Monty Python's Life of Brian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Monty Python's Life of Brian Reviews

Page 3 of 554
February 22, 2015
The best monty python writing ever, and with the religious and cultural jokes it stands the test of time. A comedy and cinema classic
February 11, 2015
One of my favorite comedies, all around. As quotable as any. A masterpiece, no matter what the Big-Noses say.
January 31, 2015
Hilarious and groundbreaking.
January 29, 2015
Incredibly funny and sharp as a knife with some skewering blasphemy along the way. Full review later.
½ January 18, 2015
Biting as heck as well as amazingly funny, Life of Brian has a biggus dickus that makes this one of the Python's best.
½ January 17, 2015
Monty Python' style of comedy was so unique and mind blowingly funny at the time that they beat us 40 years to it.
Filled with out-of-the-ordinary comedy that even if you don't laugh, there will always be a smile on your face.
This movie surpasses The Holy Grail just by a hair's breadth. Not only for it's ballsy religious finger points but also for it's hilarious characters, surreal humor and awkward conversations done perfectly.
January 4, 2015
The funniest movie ever made? Well, it's up there (even though I prefer a couple of Zucker-Abrahams-Zucker flicks). Some bits drag, or get pushed a tad too far, but very few of them. Glorious satire of SO many things, religion being just one of them. Too many glorious sequences (the stoning, the bartering, the grammar class, the shoe) and quotes to list. "All right, but apart from the sanitation, the medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, the fresh-water system, and public health, what have the Romans ever done for us?" is a famous one. But my favourites - "You lucky, lucky bastard" and "Crucifixion? Good. One cross each, line of the left, out the door." - are as much about the genius delivery as the words themselves. And the film gets my vote for the best closing song in film history. So great (although granted, very British humour - many won't get it - like my wife, who was baffled throughout).
January 4, 2015
One of my favourite movies of all time. You need a very particular sense of humour to enjoy this film in its entirety. The crudeness and the quirkiness of this film always makes my day. If you're looking for a far-out comedy unique in nature from mainstream, contemporary Hollywood, this is the film for you! Also check out Monty Python and the Holy Grail: easily my favourite movie of all time.
½ December 30, 2014
I love it, and its similarity to the story of jesus (although it has little to do with that), very funny
December 19, 2014
The best monty python film ever made, life of brian is also the best satire of religion in cinema and one of the funniest films of all time and, frankly, slightly better than holy grail. This film, as a comedy, is perfect down to every performance and criticism of religion and its structure. A comedy masterpiece of the highest order
½ December 9, 2014
Not my favourite Monty Python movie (Holy Grail FTW), but an excellent comedy satire! Many of the jokes I found quite funny, while some didn't really deliver. The story is ridiculous and silly, just like any other Monty Python movie/series, and let's not forget, entertaining! The actors play more than one character, and while sometime that can get a bit confusing, it's mostly amusing and funny. The ending is hillarious. All in all, it's a very good movie with lots of laughs and should be seen by all comedy fans, for this is comedy gold!
½ November 28, 2014
About as funny as the first one
½ November 28, 2014
92%
Watched this on 28/11/14
What a film, oh what a film!!! It's so good to see Religion mocked and not just that, I haven't laughed like this in ages. This reminds me of the American Pie days. This film is so satirical that it mocks literally every one, from Jesus to Romans, from the common folk of Rome to the Judas of Jerusalem, who are so blinded by stupidity that they believe anyone's god. It's a great great movie, never laughed like this anywhere before. Also it's got porn, oh yeah it has. The visual effects( Terry Gilliam), sets and direction(Terry Jones) are all marvelous.
½ November 23, 2014
This is one of those movies you can always watch & again just for the laughs. "Romani Ite domum" --classic!
November 11, 2014
Review In A Nutshell:

Comedy is a tricky thing to achieve, as each individual develops their own brand and sensitivities of humour. From the age of 9, I was mainly introduced by the slapstick and childish humour of Adam Sandler and friends, which is why I cannot completely dismiss those films as complete garbage due to the nostalgia factor. As I grew, my comedic tastes have becomes more fine-tuned and become more appreciative of the intelligent and artistic intentions of the writers and actors behind their craft; but in saying that, I am still anchored by the sensibilities of my foundations.

Many consider Life of Brian to be a risky and offensive film, but in all honesty, the film does not even take any jabs at Christianity or other religion in its chosen time period. The film instead pokes fun at the life, values and culture of humanity during that period in time; this allowed the film to become more intelligent in its humour, as it would have been too easy to just simply create a satire on Jesus and his life. This approach also allows the film to raise and tackle more original and thought provoking ideas and themes, standing out shining from its peers. What drew me in and kept me entertained, was the film's ability to make fun of the Romans and keeping its perspective completely grounded on the citizens of Judea; the writers could have followed members of the Roman Empire and showed the stupidity of their values through poor and idiotic decision making.

Though the film takes bold and unique steps in its satire, it lacks the comedic punch needed in a couple of its key scenes. Some moments felt overly long and characters sometimes show desperation in their comedic execution, allowing the material to suffer rather than flourish. I know it sounds pretentious of me, but Life of Brian could have used some character development throughout his journey. The film concludes with a song that actually packs a philosophical punch in its lyrics and wraps the film's larger ideas; but in regards to the character Brian, I never got a conclusion that justifies the importance of his story.

Boldness and intelligent satire define Life of Brian but issues found in the film's screenplay, prevented the film from being an amazing comedy. Though I was let down with this film, I still possess hope in Monty Python's other films.
½ November 7, 2014
His not the messiah his a very knotty boy. A
October 17, 2014
A pointless retelling of the story of Christ, with Python's usual zaniness exchanged for weak recurring jokes.
½ October 5, 2014
Has some off moments, but the on moments are just the best.
"Crucifixion? Good."
September 23, 2014
When people discuss the greatest movies ever made, it is my view that they must either state that they are excluding comedies, or mention this film somewhere within the discussion. That's how important to the history of film I think this controversial, irreverent laugh-a-minute film truly.

The Monty Python comedy troupe tell the story of a young lad in Nazereth named Brian. Born under a bright star in a manger, Brian is visited at birth by Three Wise Men, bearing gifts of gold, frankenscence and myrhh, which are happily accepted by Brian's mother (although no-one quite knew what the myrhh was). Then, the Wise Men realize the Messiah was born next door. Hence begins the life of Brian. We follow his life as he joins the People's Front of Judea - a left-wing anarchist movement opposed to Roman occupation, and gets into hijinks that make people believe he is the Son of God. Despite Brian's complaints.

The film stars the entire Monty Python troupe - Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Michael Palin, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam - alongside guest stars Susan Jones, Neil Innes, Carol Cleveland, Spike Milligan and producer George Harrison in a cameo (George Harrison reportedly financed this entire movie by mortgaging his house. When questioned by his wife, George responded "I want to see the film".) The cast is a funny, nonsensical and silly as you'd expect from a Monty Python film.

It touted controversy as "the film that mocked Jesus", but this film makes it very clear that Jesus is a different person (who is even seen performing his Sermon on the Mount in the "Blessed are the Cheesemakers" skit). What's left in a mirror into the role of religion in life, and a hilarious one at that. Nothing is sacred with the Pythons, and this is the group's magnum opus - with all due respect to the Holy Grail of course.

A glowing 5 star rating for this masterpiece.
September 17, 2014
First time when I watched Monty Python & the holy grail, I wasn't really convinced. But this kind of humour slowly grows on you. I love it now! And I loved Life of Brain! It's timelessly funny, as wacky & cheeky as it can get and doesn't end abruptly.
Page 3 of 554