Moonrise Kingdom - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Moonrise Kingdom Reviews

Page 3 of 12
September 10, 2012
Wes Anderson's refreshingly original "Moonrise Kingdom" is an unconventional children's adventure for adults, filled with with striking colors, textures and humor, and teeming with childhood innocence.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
September 10, 2012
...it reminds us of the way we (mis)apprehended the world when we were children, the way we strained to hear the adults in conference, the way we looked for clues in their manner and fastened our attention on ... random or inconsequential details.
Full Review | Original Score: 90/100
September 7, 2012
The reputation of Wes Anderson as one of America's most consistently over-rated directors gets another boost with his latest exercise in stylistic posturing and forced whimsy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 4, 2012
The divide between childhood and adolescence as a nature stroll
August 30, 2012
So many scenes will leave you with raised eyebrows and a wry smile.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 30, 2012
The most Wes Anderson-ish film Wes Anderson has ever made, 'Moonrise Kingdom' won't convert any naysayers to the cause, but fans of his work will have a ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom, which the director wrote with regular collaborator Roman Coppola, feels like his most emotionally honest work since his 1998 breakthrough, Rushmore.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
It's not my favourite Wes Anderson film but I do like it very much.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 30, 2012
His singular take on young love on the run from any sort of authority has moments of sheer oddness, but it's all of a piece with his other work and you are either an Anderson fan or you're not.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
There are many echoes of Anderson's earlier films, particularly Rushmore and Tenenbaums. He's an unapologetic romantic and Moonrise Kingdom is a study in wish-fulfillment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
Let the haters hate, but Anderson continues to build a distinctive filmography on par with any of his contemporaries.
August 30, 2012
Most will happily accept, and be truly enraptured by what unfolds.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 29, 2012
Moonrise Kingdom is an extremely sweet and heartfelt portrayal of young love and how such love inspires the lives of others who encounter it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2012
A hit of nostalgia in 50 shades of brown
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2012
Around the time of his disappointing and detached The Life Aquatic, I wondered if Wes could still tell real stories. He can. His way. That is all we can ever ask of a filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 26, 2012
A complex set of cinematic pleasures, ranging from its vibrant, eccentric visual presentation to its deadpan humour and superb performances. Oh, and the music!
August 26, 2012
The brush strokes are uniquely Anderson
August 24, 2012
It's a collection of cockeyed ideas compressed into a narrative that's utterly devoid of any actual attachment.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 22, 2012
As detached as the filmmaking sometimes appears, I daresay you can feel something pure coming off of the screen. Moonrise Kingdom is a stellar film.
Read More | Original Score: 9.5/10
August 5, 2012
Summer lovin' just got a whole more stylish thanks to Wes Anderson.
Page 3 of 12