Moskva slezam ne Verit (Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Moskva slezam ne Verit (Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears) Reviews

Page 2 of 6
½ December 11, 2010
Story of Russian women searching for love starts out enjoyable while the women are young, but becomes too blunt and rote when the women get reach middle age. There is definitely some value to seeing a female perspective of 1980 Moscow, though.
½ October 20, 2010
This Soviet award winner surprises with its honest portrayal of life during the Brezhnev era and an inborn addition of traditional values. At first glance the film suffers in turn of the decade technicalities (the harsh transition from the seventies to the eighties) with its bland aesthetic approach and muted visual style. Upon further viewing, however, much can be taken from the inspired storyline of three girlfriends who experience trials and tribulations with government, work, and men. With a nice blend of humor and relatable pathos the audience soon begins to feel for the prominent characters as they grow during a seventeen year period. There is an obvious agenda when it comes to confronting legislative dealings during this time and it assimilates rather smoothly. Even in grazing melodramatic territory, which is fortunately evaded, the film does not overstay its welcome with the long running time. Just when it seems the narrative is about to take a turn for the worse, it goes in an entirely different direction. These cunning deceptions are not without merit, because they succeed in supplying the movie with the feeling of having a complete and comprehensive message that hits home; even if that home is not the former Soviet Union.
October 10, 2010
Gor─?co polecam, komedia romantyczna nakr─?cona w 1980 r. w ZSRR. ;) Szkoda tylko, ┼╝e ca┼?─? pierwsz─? po┼?ow─? trzeba przeczeka─?, ┼╝eby w drugiej zacz─?┼? si─? dobry film.
½ October 3, 2010
Why should women's liberation and upward mobility be a "Western" concern? Soviet-era answer shows we had much in common, even in the Cold War.
September 23, 2010
An equally touching and over-long melodrama.
June 6, 2010
most favorite russian film. americans should definitely watch this too. there is much to learn from this work of art.
½ April 30, 2010
Unique to Russian cinema, an excellent film without pretention or politics. Charming.
½ March 16, 2010
Pretty good Oscar winning foreign film that follows three women from their college life up to their adult life and mainly focuses on their love life and their careers and how the women are accepted in a man's world type of thing. I think the second half is a bit better, I particularly liked the stuff when Georgy shows up and the end is very good. But it's nothing spectacular, so it's sort of a forgettable Oscar winner. I get what it's saying, and it probably was relevant back in the day in Russia (or maybe now for all I know).
March 3, 2010
saw this and liked it when it first came out. need to see again to rate it fairly.
December 6, 2009
A timeless classic! It is as relevant today as it was in 1980, when it won Oscar for Best Foreign Language film!
November 21, 2009
Oscar winner somewhere between social drama and (proto)-romantic comedy. Great piece of soviet cinema.
November 15, 2009
Three young women move to Moscow & scheme to find husbands. Mediocre melodrama's sole strength is its femme-focused look at Russian society.
Super Reviewer
October 9, 2009
1980's chick flic, russian style.
½ September 9, 2009
The film's few inherent prejudices/limitations, seem rather slight when compared to the many, rather sophisticated shades of grey that it manages to paint within its lighthearted exterior.
July 7, 2009
Beautiful to watch the lives, hopes and dreams of 3 friends laid out across the decades in Moscow!
May 4, 2009
great film!!! i thought it was both hilarious and touching.
½ May 4, 2009
Much as I enjoy the heavyweight Russian films which I suppose constitute most of those which make it into the west, this one - essentially a kitchen sink drama - makes a fairly refreshing change. There are no troubled soldiers returning ftom war to changed homelands, no political motives at all, just the tale of a group of girls getting on with life between the mid 50s and the late 70s. The period look is brilliant. The details of day to day life, fashion, decor behind the iron curtain are utterly convincing. It's pure soviet era nostalgia.

Not that it's all fluffy and sentimental. We get to see the 3 to a room workers' dorms and alcoholic ex-husbands and the factories full of big old lathes and so on. But this is undoubtedly intended as 'a love letter to Moscow' - and were it 'a love letter to Liverpool' or 'a love letter to Notting Hill' or 'a love letter' to anywhere in Britain it'd probably be precisely the sort of selectively nostalgic British film industry wankery I normally hate. But novelty value goes a long way.

Fascinating.
March 26, 2009
+ WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN
½ February 6, 2009
The story of three girlfriends at two points in their lives. The loss, the struggle, and the times of youth. Not a bad film. Its lengthy considering it takes awhile for something to happen. Beware of a dubbed version!
February 5, 2009
One of the best Russian/Soviet movies. Very truthful portrayal of real life in Moscow in Soviet times (1970s mostly). Anyone who wants to know how people lived in Moscow in those times should see this movie.
Page 2 of 6