mother! Reviews

Page 1 of 18
October 17, 2019
An infernal feast of imagination and a sly exploration of the creative process itself.
October 10, 2019
Sure, Aronofsky has given us something to talk about, but this unintentionally campy exercise is so gleefully entrenched in its reliance on shock value, it's glaring metaphors can't help but feel pedantic.
September 27, 2019
Mother! begins tolerably if uncomfortably, like an itchy scar. The experience of Mother! is the scar widening and deepening with each act of cruelty and bizarre inhumanity until it's overflowing with ooze.
September 14, 2019
Mother! is an emotional annihilation; one which leaves the viewer feeling as though they were aggressively buckled to a splintered chair, whilst being tortured with the angst, suffering and heartbreak felt by another human.
August 12, 2019
A very interesting visual finish, from the scenes and the very precise performances of the leading quartet to the photograph that imitates different stages of the history of classical painting. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 6, 2019
Mother! is able to shock us, but it also provides a full experience of the highest quality being visually compelling, even mesmerizing, and/or presents a unique, intriguing and complex story.
August 5, 2019
Take from the harrowing experience what you will, but the most important thing to remember is that mother! is an experience. An all out assault on your senses. And one you will have been happy to endure.
June 25, 2019
mother! is bad art of the highest degree, destined to incite anger and launch substantive and heated conversations, making it a valuable and worthwhile truly terrible pile of garbage.
June 4, 2019
If it holds a mirror up to ourselves, we should be horrified at what we see.
May 18, 2019
It's boring, it's pretentious, and absolutely not worth your time or money.
May 16, 2019
There is so much to say about Mother! and so many layers to explore that I imagine theology, psychology, film and sociology PhD students will have at it for decades.
May 13, 2019
The allegory at its core remains its weakest element, and while it does dent the movie rather badly it does not entirely defeat it.
May 8, 2019
Absolutely crazy, bizarre in a very refreshing way! The plot engagingly communicates an allegorical message that ignites thorough discussion.
May 1, 2019
An analogy of how we treat Mother Nature, viewed through the lens of how we as humans, as men, and as a society treat women.
April 10, 2019
mother! Or - what not to expect when you're expecting.
March 2, 2019
In the end mother! didn't leave a terribly positive impression on me, but if you're curious it's probably worth it just for you to see how insane it gets.
February 22, 2019
A raucous, vicious horror-thriller that also happens to be utter nonsense. It hangs together by the loosest of threads.
February 18, 2019
Extraordinary and creepy. This film plays in a dense ground of surrealism and metaphore that works for some willing viewers. [Full review in Spanish].
February 11, 2019
[mother!] is tonally bleak and aesthetically brilliant and narratively scattered.
February 6, 2019
I think this may be one of those movies that movie purists, critics, and others in the film industry will simply drool all over. It's without question a very original movie.
Page 1 of 18