La Moustache - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

La Moustache Reviews

Page 1 of 16
October 31, 2015
This is a fascinating so simple its brilliant story. American movies always have to have some sort of explanation usually of a supernatural or scientific quality. This movie gives us no explanation for the events but totally works. Its hard to say to much without spoiling it because this movie gets going pretty fast, but its the kind of film where I had the time of my life thinking about what i would have done his his situation. It will make you think twice about shaving.
May 7, 2014
Strange and intriguing.
January 5, 2014
Marc shaves his mustache and with it, he goes to the other side of the mirror, where his world becomes strange. I'm not repeating the story here, see other reviews for this. I want to add that what is strange is that Marc has clear evidence that his wife and his two closest friends are lying and he becomes deeply shaken. In my view, these three characters are the people he loves the most and their lies are hurting him. Behind strong allures, he his vulnerable because of the love he has. He is not a psychopath, basically. However, his wife and friends, whether it is a joke or a sinister way to push him into depression and suicide, appears to be psychopathic. I think this is the main point of the movie. In the end, Marc escapes without leaving clues to them but they find him before he sends them an adieu, maybe a final adieu to the world or a new beginning without them. Once found, and his wife and friends now acting normally, he gets rid of the unsent token or last adieu, too happy to get back into the cosy feelings of love....that may not really exist because of their psychopathy. This film appears to be idiotic at first but asks deep questions about the value of life, love, friendship. It marks philosophical points.
January 5, 2014
Marc shaves his mustache and with it, he goes to the other side of the mirror, where his world becomes strange. I'm not repeating the story here, see other reviews for this. I want to add that what is strange is that Marc has clear evidence that his wife and his two closest friends are lying and he becomes deeply shaken. In my view, these three characters are the people he loves the most and their lies are hurting him. Behind strong allures, he his vulnerable because of the love he has. He is not a psychopath, basically. However, his wife and friends, whether it is a joke or a sinister way to push him into depression and suicide, appears to be psychopathic. I think this is the main point of the movie. In the end, Marc escapes without leaving clues to them but they find him before he sends them an adieu, maybe a final adieu to the world or a new beginning without them. Once found, and his wife and friends now acting normally, he gets rid of the unsent token or last adieu, too happy to get back into the cosy feelings of love....that may not really exist because of their psychopathy. This film appears to be idiotic at first but asks deep questions about the value of life, love, friendship. It marks philosophical points.
August 17, 2013
Interesting film with existential (and thus deterministic) themes, collapse of a relationship similar to Contempt (perhaps something to do with the nature of French relationships), but also with a complete inescapable nature, a feeling of being trapped with a brief moment of being free and a master of your destiny, he must ask her permission to shave the moustache. The woman appears to represent fate, an unreasonable kafkaesque fate...
February 12, 2013
A man's love for his mustache or facial hair is really a big thing. It's about time I saw a movie about it and it worked out quite nice. This is a bit artsy, a bit infuriating, a bit surreal and mildly fascinating film.

A man shaves his stache - and no one notice. NO ONE. Imagine that feeling? Ladies, that's like a total hair color change. How would you like that?

This film has ok performances, some visually nice scenes and a way of storytelling that keeps it humorous and sweet. To put it in the drama genre seems wrong in my book. This is in not a fantastic film. Not very entertaining,rememberable or amazing in any way. It's key is that you don't know anything about the characters so jou must learn by viewing it. That's why it will keep you interested at all times. It scores on the plot, the way it's presented and some camera stuff, but it's not a big, great film.
December 16, 2012
A simple movie about paranoia and that odd strange feeling we all have when things don't seem right.
September 7, 2012
I have a "moustache" as well. Had it ever since I could grow one. That's a better statement than any shitty tattoo I've ever seen. And almost all tattoos are . . . shitty that is.

The story here plays out like Alfred Hitchcock and Rod Serling wrote it together. Maybe they dragged Roman Polanski in as guest director.
Some illiterates don't like movies simply because of sub-titles. The ones that deny this are lazy as well.

I liked the premise because, think about it: How many times have you met someone and couldn't remember things like eyeglasses, mustaches, and yes, stupid tattoos? Interesting movie that bears watching without distractions because of subtleties and plot.
August 30, 2012
'La Moustache' is an emotional experience in it's own right and will appeal to everyone differently. It just depends whether you can go with Marc along this journey. That is why this film is almost impossible to review. All I can say it appealed to me right up to the ending which I thought kind of ruined the film, but still it's an involving and interesting experience.
March 3, 2012
This hair-raising thriller is certainly tuft to follow. Marc, the mane character, with a rather stiff upper lip, wigs out after he shaves his mustache. On the fringe of a mental breakdown, Marc finds himself in a hairy situation. Whom can he tress? When his crew cuts him out of his life, Marc dreads the prospect of insanity and waves goodbye to his roots. He leaves all his split ends behind in France, and come 5 o'clock, he's merely a shadow of his former self.
March 2, 2012
A film about moustache?
January 28, 2012
Moustaches and psychological twisties! AND in French! Great film, though somewhat dry in places.
½ September 11, 2011
Quit bein so pedantic man it's just hair.
Super Reviewer
½ August 15, 2011
What a horrible thing to go through, I questioned if the character Marc was going through the beginning stages of alzheimer's disease because of his lack of memory that never synced up with his wife's. "You didn't even notice I shaved my moustache" "you have not had a moustache in the 15 years I have known you."
½ July 20, 2011
A great premise: guy has mustache for many years then shaves it off. He is upset that people do not notice, and his wife goes so far as to say he never even wore a mustache, let alone gave rides on it. Is it a statement of how we see ourselves differently than the rest of the world does? Well, it's a French movie, so it doesn't even have to make sense.

I wondered right off the bat how long the movie would was. In other words, how long could they carry on this story about litttle more than nothing. It took a turn for the worse as the once-mustached man begins to seem crazy. I thought it might turn out like A Beautiful Mind, but nope, it just kinda ended. French movies do that more than any language I've encountered and it's always frustrating. A movie is a story, so what is the point of a movie without a story? Despite nice acting, I don't like to waste even 84 minutes on nothing.
½ June 9, 2011
Extraordinary work of art. Captures our human condition on so many levels. Beautiful, intimate...Incredible work.
½ June 3, 2011
A very interesting premise. Though I couldn't get the real answer at the end, I still enjoy this very stylish mystery. Vincent Lindon's outstanding performance is also a highlight of the film.
April 27, 2011
better than any other movie about a mustache i've ever seen!
½ April 6, 2011
What did it mean? Was it a dream, insanity? Lots of questions and discussion followed this movie. Well done, but Karrie says, 'not enjoyable'.
Page 1 of 16