Mr. Nobody - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mr. Nobody Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Chris Sawin
February 24, 2014
Complex, visually stunning, and pleasantly convoluted, this is a film that seems like it can't be confined to one genre and while time flows in one continuous direction Mr. Nobody makes it a point to constantly pedal in the opposite direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
November 12, 2013
ambitious as all get out and a wonder from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Simon Brookfield
We Got This Covered
October 31, 2013
While visual excess and occasional thematic bombast softens Mr. Nobody at times, the film nevertheless has poignant, often profound things to say about fate, mortality, consequence and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Mike McGranaghan
Film Racket
October 31, 2013
a passionate, thoughtful, and inquisitive exploration of the meaning of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
October 31, 2013
Never mind that several characters seem to gain or lose British accents throughout the course of the film. The lack of continuity only enhances the sense of deliciously dizzying disequilibrium.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
AV Club
October 31, 2013
As philosophy, Mr. Nobody seems sillier than it is profound. But in a parallel reality, more movies would have this degree of insane ambition.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Tim Grierson
Paste Magazine
October 30, 2013
A thoughtful investigation into the different variations of all our lives: the daydreams, the anxious worst-case scenarios, the futile digressions that went nowhere.
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
October 29, 2013
Too strange for wide release, too provocative and arresting to sit on the shelf
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Marc Mohan
October 29, 2013
This sprawling, ambitious sci-fi epic has a keen visual sense and a genuine interest in its deep topics.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Lee Marshall
Screen International
October 28, 2013
Jaco van Dormael's most ambitious film to date is a mess and a miracle at the same time.
Top Critic
Deborah Young
Hollywood Reporter
October 28, 2013
This big-budget English-language co-production shows that Europeans can compete in the sci-fi realm where high production values are king.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
October 28, 2013
Messy but intriguing science-fiction film.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Mike D'Angelo
The Dissolve
September 30, 2013
Most viewers will have settled into a state of detached admiration. In the end, Mr. Nobody's title is simply too apt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Fred Topel
Screen Junkies
June 27, 2011
I relate to most movies by thinking about my past. Mr. Nobody has me evaluating my future.
Top Critic
Boyd van Hoeij
April 4, 2011
A film that has a beating heart underneath its messy -- though breathtakingly designed -- exterior.
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 14, 2011
Van Dormael's almost avant-garde modus operandi cements the movie's place as a love-it-or-hate-it proposition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jason Gorber
September 2, 2010
This is thought provoking without pretentiousness, full of ideas and passion that deserves a wide audience...Giving oneself over to the film is a pleasure that's not soon to be repeated.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Bruce Kirkland
Jam! Movies
July 28, 2010
Expect the unexpected. Try to answer the unanswerable question that writer-director Van Dormael poses. It is a worthwhile exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Zach Hollwedel
Under the Radar
August 18, 2014
[Writer-director] Van Dormael seems unsure of what exactly it is he's trying to say, and thus Mr. Nobody rambles on for nearly two and a half hours.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Jeff Beck
February 24, 2014
There are times when the film is entirely lucid in the points it wants to get across on love and the various choices we have to make throughout our lives, while at other times it seems lost in its overabundance of possibilities.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2