Mr. Hulot's Holiday (Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mr. Hulot's Holiday (Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot) Reviews

Page 2 of 23
½ January 20, 2014
My First Jacques Tati film, and it is so funny. A lot of slapstick and satire throughout the film that will keep you memorized.
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2013
Slapstick at it's finest. Never has comedy looked more beautiful than in the hands of the great Jaques Tati.
December 1, 2013
The gags are clever and the soundtrack certainly gives a relaxed feel to the movie but at times this movie is too relaxed and I found myself somewhat bored the entire movie. It was funny occasionally and I can certainly see some influence from the likes of Buster Keaton and even Charlie Chaplin and it's that influence which makes this film worth seeing.
½ November 25, 2013
Jacques Tati is definitely the French Chaplin who could arouse laughter every step he takes in a carefree manner. It's a shame his contributions are rarely discussed now.
½ September 8, 2013
It's certainly funny to watch, and well-choreographed. By the end, I think that I have grasped the film at some level, but without much to ground all the slapsticks that are going on here, it's hard to rate the film any better.
August 6, 2013
This is a film that I need to revisit. I was expecting a screwball comedy (later I found out that I was in the same shoes as Ebert). After the initial ten minutes, I did not laugh out loud at the future humor, but I was amused by the portrayal of the character and the vacation town. This is a film with no plot. You must come to it with no purpose other than to enjoy the images that it sets forth (in a way, it is a clear precursor to Robert Altman's Mash and Nashville). The only point is to explore the encounter of diverse people as they converge on a vacation town near the beach. They all stay at a specific hotel, eat together, go to the beach and spend their evenings together in the commons area of the hotel. After reflecting on my experience and reading Ebert's review, I can relate to the nostalgic and impressionable aspects of the film. Scenes are carefully put together and memorable. It is not a film that one can easily forget, but for me, it is a film that I will need to revisit. I enjoyed the initial sequence as everyone, literally everyone in the city, heads out for a vacation at the same time including Hulot in his clunker. I also enjoyed the sequence where Hulot paints his kayak and the tides play a role in the development of the scene. Hulot eating his food next to another guest of the hotel was amusing. One can find some fun scenes to enjoy, but it can be challenging for some viewers the first time around, including me.
½ July 26, 2013
Monsieur Hulot und die Gebärde: Wie Béla Balázs Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot (Regie: Jacques Tati, FR 1953) gesehen hätte.

Einleitung
Béla Balázs, früher Filmkritiker und -theoretiker verstarb am 17. Mai 1949, sechs Tage nach der Premiere von Jacques Tatis erstem Langfilm Jour de Fête. Vier Jahre später erscheint Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot und Tati wird zum internationalen Star.

Zeit seines Lebens war Balázs ein glühender Anhänger von Charlie Chaplins Filmen. Die Slapstickeinlagen des kleinen Briten und sein Alter Ego The Tramp" kamen Balázs' Auffassung von Kino sehr nahe.
Körperlichkeit prägt das Slapstickgenre und die Physiognomie des Tramp", mit seinen überlangen Hosen, seinem Bowler, seiner notorischen Rückenlage und seiner Tollpatschigkeit, waren universell verständliche Codes der sinnlichen visuellen Wahrnehmung. Chaplins Filme boten Balázs die Möglichkeit seine Theorieansätze auf der Leinwand zu überprüfen.

Der Franzose Jacques Tati schuf für Les Vacances ebenfalls eine Kunstfigur, die ihn bis zu seinem vorletzten Film Trafic (Regie: Jacques Tati, IT/FR 1971) begleiten sollte.
Hierbei handelt es sich um Monsieur Hulot. Er ist gewissermaßen die Antithese zu Chaplins Tramp". Zwar ebenso tollpatschig, aber großgewachsen, mit viel zu kurzen Hosen, vornübergebeugter Haltung und Pfeife im Mund.
Beide sind sie gutherzig aber hadern mit den Anforderungen urbanen Lebens und moderner Technologie.

Monsieur Hulot macht Ferien
Hulot in seiner vollen Pracht, offenbart sich dem Rezipienten zum ersten Mal nach elf Minuten. Aber schon davor präsentiert Tati die Welt des Hulots als hektisches, unüberschaubares Spektakel. Eine Kakophonie von Soundeffekten, Massen an Touristen und ein krachendes Auto, augenscheinlich am Ende seiner Lebenszeit, begleiten Hulot an seinen Bestimmungsort - einen Badeort an der französischen Westküste.

Dort angelangt stürzt er den Urlaubsort ins Chaos und macht sich die meisten der anderen Feriengäste zum Feind (später sollte sich Rowan Atkinson für seinen Mr.-Bean-Film die gleiche Formel zu Nutzen machen).
Die kindlichen Slapstickeinlagen von Jacques Tati erinnern hierbei stark an klassische Genreerzeugnisse der 20er Jahre (man denke nur an Buster Keaton, Harold Lloyd oder eben Charlie Chaplin).
Drei Dekaden filmtechnologischen Fortschritts haben aber ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Der markanteste Unterschied: Les Vacances ist ein Tonfilm.

Der Ton als Attraktion
Balázs' Hauptwerk, Der sichtbare Mensch oder die Kultur des Films, beschäftigt sich ausschließlich mit dem Stummfilm. Soundeffekte spielen in der Stummfilmzeit nur eine untergeordnete Rolle und gesprochene Dialoge gibt es nicht.
Und doch haben die Werke Tatis einiges mehr mit Stummfilmen gemeinsam als mit den Arbeiten seiner Zeitgenossen. Gesprochene Dialoge sind nämlich auch bei Tati nur Nebensache. Soundeffekte nutzt er jedoch exzessiv.

Tati gebraucht Toneffekte als indexikalische Zeichen, als spektakuläre Attraktionen, als ironische Kommentare. Damit erhält der Ton bei Tati eine ähnliche Funktion wie die Großaufnahme bei Balázs.
Dies ist auch notwendig, da Tati so gut wie keine Groß- und Detailaufnahmen verwendet (was automatisch eine Nivellierung des mimischen Ausdrucks zur Folge hat). Les Vacances spielt sich größtenteils in der Totale und Halbtotale ab.

Noch ist Ton ein wichtiger Träger von Information für Tati - das sollte sich in seinem Opus Magnum Playtime (Regie: Jacques Tati, FR 1967) ändern, wo Hulot, und die Welt um ihn herum, gänzlich dem postmodernen Wahnsinn anheimfällt und die Geräuschkulisse mehrheitlich die Funktion eines Verfremdungselements im brechtschen Sinn übernimmt. Einen Vorgeschmack darauf bieten bereits einige Szenen in Les Vacances - immer dann, wenn Lärm zum primären Informationsträger wird, und das visuelle Bild überschattet (so z.B. die Kakophonie des Lautsprechers am Bahnhof [0h02'], die Jazzmusik im Salon [0h29' und 1h28'], das Krachen des Automotors [0h46'] und das Ping-Pong-Spiel [0h54']).

Physiognomie und Gebärde
Balázs geht es um unmittelbaren leiblichen Ausdruck, um Sehen als sinnliche Erfahrung und um den Menschen, als Mittelpunkt einer neuen visuellen Kultur des Körpers, der aus den Ruinen der Schriftkultur emporsteigt.
Er wünscht sich eine Kultur ohne Sprache, und Tati, als geistiger Nachfolger Chaplins, macht Filme ohne Sprache.

Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot ist auch ohne Französischkenntnisse verständlich (die Dialoge sind, wie oben erwähnt, meist nur Geräuschkulisse und haben nahezu keinen Informationsgehalt). Das liegt daran, dass Tati, ganz im Sinne Balázs', in zweierlei Hinsicht auf die Rezipienten vertraut.
Einerseits, muss das Publikum physiognomische Codes entschlüsseln und andererseits, Gebärden deuten.

Dass die Physiognomik einen hohen Stellenwerts in Tatis Kunstauffassung hat, wird schon durch das Design von Monsieur Hulot deutlich. Seine Tollpatschigkeit deutet sich in seinen zu kurzen Hosen an, seine Kindlichkeit in seinem tänzelnden Gang.
Auch die anderen Feriengäste sind beinahe Karikaturen (der dicke Kapitalist, der zackige Ex-Militär, der Lausbub etc.).

Die Gebärde hat bei Tati ebenfalls tragende Funktion. Als logische Folge des Verzichts auf Dialog, muss die Gestik die Kommunikation übernehmen. Um zu verhindern, dass seine Filme überzeichnet wirken, kreiert Tati für seine Charaktere Sprachbarrieren. So sind manche der Feriengäste Franzosen, manche Briten und manche sprechen unverständlichen Kauderwelsch. Non-orale Kommunikation durch Gestikulieren ist somit unvermeidbar.
Anders als bei Balázs vorgesehen, entwickeln sich aus dieser Art der Kommunikation allerdings andauernd Missverständnisse. Die Sprache des Körpers ist dem gesprochenen Wort bei Tati schlussendlich unterlegen.


Conclusio
Balázs' Theorien lassen sich auf Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot nur bedingt anwenden. Zwar ist die Kunstfigur Hulot ein Musterbeispiel für die Herausarbeitung der Physiognomie eines Charakters, und gesprochener Dialog wird durch Gebärde ersetzt, doch wird angedeutet, dass diese Art der Kommunikation dem Gespräch unterlegen ist.
Außerdem verzichtet Tati fast gänzlich auf Großaufnahmen und eliminiert somit den mimischen Ausdruck, der im Zentrum von Balázs' Theorie steht.
Nichtsdestotrotz, finden sich in den Filmen des Jacques Tati unzählige Elemente, die sich auch in Balász theoretischen Schriften der 20er Jahre finden.
½ July 15, 2013
A silent-style comedy for the sound era, it picks up where Chaplin's MODERN TIMES left off - using well-timed physical comedy and visual gags to parody and reveal our foibles. As Tati's iconic Monsieur Hulot travels to a resort town, he becomes the centerpiece for a collection of beautiful comic sequences. A tire with leaves, a collapsed boat shaped like jaws, even a squeaky door - they're all drawn into Tati's subtle comic vision. It looks great, sounds better, and best of all has Tati's Hulot himself - with his gangly figure and his movements that stick out at odd angles, he's the Tramp and the Great Stone Face rolled into one.
June 24, 2013
Superb french comedy with excellent visual and physical humour, Comic timing and perfection throughout Tati spent years optimising and the end result is a magnificent enjoyable for all comedy
June 4, 2013
Truly a masterpiece in the genre of comedy, Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot is one of the best films from a non-english speaking country
May 8, 2013
Directed by and starring Jacques Tati, this is the original film that introduced the bumbling but kindly Mr. Hulot. He finds himself staying at a beach side hotel full of various different tourists. The film is not so much about plot but instead it focuses mostly on Hulot's many antics. Whether he is paddling a kayak, playing tennis, changing a tire on his beat up car, trying to mount a horse, or accidentally setting off fireworks, Hulot is bound to cause laughs. This film is unique because as with Tati's other works the pacing is not fast. That means we are able to relax and enjoy this vacation along with Mr. Hulot. We can take in the many sounds and images while we also watch this likable bumbler. Maybe Tati did not know it at the time but he created a memorable persona in Hulot who has his own distinct movement and attire. Without talking at all he leaves such a tremendous mark. If there was ever an influence on Mr. Bean I think the origins would definitely start with monsieur Hulot.
½ May 4, 2013
Découverte des "Vacances de Mr Hulot" avec mes CM1, un film référence dans l'histoire du cinéma : l'histoire d'un homme maladroit et non conventionnel, dont la seule présence brise la routine des touristes présents.
April 26, 2013
Great comedy, but not for everyone
½ April 21, 2013
I'm a huge, huge fan of director Jacques Tati and his Monsieur Hulot character. This early film featuring him is a wonderful little gem that's nearly entirely plotless. It's basically a series of vignettes and scenes involving Hulot and his fellow vacationers in the French seaside. There are lots of really funny gags and physical comedy. But all in all, I feel like this is the warm up to the masterpieces ahead, namely "Mon Oncle" and "Play Time".
March 30, 2013
one of my favourites.
March 25, 2013
Seems a precursor to Mr. Bean. Not hyterical, but enjoyable enough.
March 8, 2013
If you ever wanted to know where the idea for Mr Bean came from then I don't think you need to look any further than this film. It is French slapstick done in a stylish, clever, speachless way with a hint of Carry-on thrown in.
½ March 3, 2013
Amusing and lively movie with enjoyable humor--Hilarious, influential, plot less, wonderful!!
½ February 6, 2013
Like a French Mr Bean, but better. With minimal dialogue you soon get swept up in this film noticing small details here and there that add up to create a rather enjoyable and funny film.
December 7, 2012
Would like to see at some stage.
Page 2 of 23