Mr. North - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mr. North Reviews

Page 1 of 1
November 30, 2012
I thought this Movie was great If you don't like this then you have no taste.
½ February 12, 2011
i watched mr. north over twenty years ago, and i enjoyed it. i have been trying to remember the title of this movie for two decades until i came across it last night while watching a documentary on john huston, the father of the director this movie, danny huston. so happy to rediscover Mr. North. with all due respect for the seasoned critics, i suggest that you ignore their negative criticism-sometimes they try too hard to read too much into a simply cute and beautiful story. it's a lovely movie for the whole family. i know you'll enjoy it too :-)
½ February 7, 2011
Mr. North is a charming,sophisticated and wittily performed comedy of manners.

There are no aliens, nor special effects. What there is is a cast of perfection, who performs this tongue in cheek delight flawlessly. Edwards, Bacall, Stanton and the great Robert Mitchum head a cast that has just the right touch for this adaptation of Thornton Wilder's novel.

Newport, Rhode Island is the exquisite setting for this little jewel.

I could not help but wish that the film had been more successful financially, for then we might have availed ourselves of The Further Adventures of Mr. North.
½ July 11, 2010
Intriguing cast, offbeat movie, strange viewing experience
July 5, 2010
(** 1/2): Thumbs Down

Whimsical and charming but not entirely exciting/compelling. A near-miss.
Super Reviewer
½ February 14, 2010
A really great cast makes this movie a lot of fun to watch.
½ February 21, 2009
It relies more on the star power than the actual plot, which although holds up as an interesting enlightenment drama, is not strong enough for the talent to shine.
March 8, 2007
Charming film, great cast and well produced. It has a nice feel for the times, good score. Lauren Bacall is particularly good, and Anthony Edwards is well cast. Enjoyable and quite watchable.
Page 1 of 1