Mum & Dad - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mum & Dad Reviews

Page 1 of 18
½ March 12, 2016
Adding the backdrop of Heathrow Airport gives this as a real nudge with regard to the film's verisimilitude. This is very believable and so much of the protagonist's general behaviour shares similarities to the dynamics of how our own families at home might behave. Well, with hopefully far less frightening consequences! Perry Benson makes for a perfect creepy Dad and Dido Miles continuously shits me up.
½ August 22, 2015
Sadistic and difficult to watch at times. It verges on torture-porn, but there is a bit more to it here. The most disturbing thing about it is that it is loosely based on a real couple. Worth a watch if you are up for it.
April 27, 2015
Not gonna lie, I did enjoy this film. It is very unique. The main character is actually very likable and you feel for her. The father is such a disgusting person, you can't help but hate him and the mother is just as scary in her own way. Everybody gets what they deserve in the end but from the perspective of a guy, the mother had this lesbian vibe to her and it never paid off. I had to watch a guy ejaculate on a piece of meat but not a single lesbian kiss or something?? Just a nit pick but still :P
April 19, 2015
Gory, seen before, not a smart story, not quite amusing either...
May 29, 2014
I dug it. Twisted. Perry Benson is so convincing that's he's nauseating.
May 28, 2014
Pretty messed up film but doesn't really go anywhere just more torture porn!
Super Reviewer
March 24, 2014
Mum and Dad is a dark, twisted horror tale about a young, Polish cleaner at an airport who, after missing her last bus home gets offered a place to stay by her friendly workmate. But not long after they arrive at the house the Polish girl gets knocked out and later awakes tied up in a dirty looking bedroom. Getting introduced to 'mum and dad', she realises she is in the hands of one seriously fucked up family and is made to do chores around the house in turn for food and a roof over her head but this is a family whose dad regularly tortures and murders people to the delight of the mum and perverse pleasure of the daughter and brother, who seemingly were brought in in similar circumstances to our Polish cleaner.
Mum and Dad has quite an interesting, and chillingly familiar, premise as we see an innocent young person brought into a house and physically and mentally fucked with. Something that happens to young girls involved in Trafficing the world over. only fortunately not to this level. But it's brutal nature could well give hardcore horror fans a perverse thrill as things become more tense throughout and the nonchalant, this-is-normal behaviour of the family puts you on edge to. Plus the fact they watch porn at the breakfast table.
Some will no doubt find this repulsive and disgusting but for horror fans Mum and Dad is a twisted treat.
½ February 5, 2014
very bizarre interesting concept but not executed aswel as it could have been
½ February 1, 2014
Though it may exploit and try hard to gross out, it still manages to keep your attention.
January 26, 2014
So dull but I have to compliment them on the slightly original concept of the film
½ October 14, 2013
This film was recommended to me by a friend and I wasn't expecting much to be honest but I was pleasantly surprised.
Considering the low budget, the movie is quite well done and real life events that have happened make it surprisingly believable.
The movie does have its slightly funny moments mixed with torture and gore. Ainsley Howard does a fantastic job of playing the character of Birdie and Olga Fedori is also very convincing as the victim. It's a fresh rating from me!
September 24, 2013
This movie was crazy...disgusting and awesome at the same time. It is shock gore and just downright ridiculous. And campy as all hell. I really think if you like psycho families, crazy maniacs, and pure nonsense...this was great! I totally liked it!
August 2, 2013
satisfying. reminded me a little of 'the loved ones,' and i'm pretty sure it wasn't just the paper crowns.
½ August 1, 2013
A modern day Texas chainsaw massacre set in London--Gloriously unsettling and brutal British horror!!
½ July 18, 2013
Recommended to me by a friend and I was pleasantly surprised with this film.
Knowing about true life cases similar to this make this film feel quite realistic. I also have to say that considering its low budget, it is done very well. The scenes of torture are believable and there are some comedic moments too.
½ May 15, 2013
Really? Is anyone involved in this movie in any way proud of what they've achieved? Do they think this is any way adds anything to the existence of cinema, other than to give an excuse to titillate someone who gets off on the grotesque childish cutting up of imaginary people. Why? A vacuous insult to horror cinema.
May 14, 2013
A somewhat unique take on the psycho-killer family genre that stretches back to The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and includes such recent examples as The Girl Next Door and The Woman, Mum and Dad is a thoroughly brutal and twisted film that also features some pitch-black comedy. Mum and Dad concerns a young woman whose co-worker takes her home to get a ride, where she discovers that the family kidnaps people and makes them part of their "family." Torture, sexual depravity, and bizarreness ensue as she struggles to find a means of escape. Surprisingly well-filmed, always surprising in its twistedness, and funny in a way that will make you feel dirty, Mum & Dad is a must for fans of brutal horror cinema.
February 14, 2013
fantastic,one of my fave films! love everything about it. the acting was good the special features on the dvd show you how much fun they had filming it. really well done." you don't want to make dad angry do you" :)
½ February 1, 2013
Grisly, brilliantly acted, unrelenting and completely unsettling. Its just wayyyyy to uncomfortable.
½ January 19, 2013
I can't think of any words that actually equate to how ridiculous this film is! It's just gory and to be honest makes me even more suspicious of new people. The acting is quite good for a film of this budget but that about the only good thing I have to say about it
Page 1 of 18