Mumford - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mumford Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Top Critic
Susan Wloszczyna
USA Today
January 1, 2000
The performances are uneven.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
January 1, 2000
This film is smart, but also entertaining -- made to go with popcorn, a cola and, well, Prozac.
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
January 1, 2000
Director Lawrence Kasdan's Mumford blends likable characters with a humorous, gentle look at small town life.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
January 1, 2000
Hope Davis deserves much of credit for making Mumford work.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Chris Grunden
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
A frustrating, mundane piece of filmmaking that only serves to emphasize the spottiness of Kasdan's post-Body Heat output.
Top Critic
Peter Stack
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Kasdan's new comedy, Mumford, is so wonderfully odd, even spiritual, that audiences won't be able to do anything but smile.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Wesley Morris
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
Humongously entertaining.
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
January 1, 2000
After watching Mumford, I not only felt a little better, I was downright happy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
January 1, 2000
A restful, realistic remedy for the past summer's wild ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
A movie filled with gems!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
January 1, 2000
Mumford is agreeably entertaining, peppered with rich laughs and very nice actorly touches.
Tom Sander
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
January 1, 2000
Some viewers may find themselves bored, confused and turned off, especially in the first half.
Top Critic
Jeff Millar
Houston Chronicle
January 1, 2000
The film is quite well acted, notably by Dean.
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
January 1, 2000
Somewhere in the middle, when we hear Mumford's real history, we stop laughing and we never start up again.
| Original Score: 7/10
George Meyer
Orlando Weekly
January 1, 2000
Veteran writer-director Lawrence Kasdan knows his film history.
James Hebert
San Diego Union-Tribune
January 1, 2000
After so many gross offenses committed in the name of comedy lately, here's a film whose humor rests on the audacious assumption that you, the moviegoer, have a brain.
Jim Judy
Screen It!
January 1, 2000
The film never manages to build into the clever comedy it initially seems destined to be.
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
January 1, 2000
I was never engaged in the film's story nor did I care about its main character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Lawrence Toppman
Charlotte Observer
January 1, 2000
Clever dialogue.
Top Critic

Miami Herald
January 1, 2000
This pleasant romantic fantasy is slight enough to go straight to cable -- to network, even.
Page 2 of 4