The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor Reviews

Page 1 of 9
April 8, 2011
A movie series called The Mummy is naturally going to have a limited focus. Universal might have been better off focusing on the various adventures of Rick and Evelyn to give them a wider range of material. But they haven't, so mummies it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 21, 2014
Never trust a movie in which a character exclaims "here we go again", just as Brendan Fraser does 30 minutes into the third instalment of The Mummy franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 1, 2008
At one point in the film when it becomes clear trouble will soon be lurking around the corner, Jonathan tells the people around him that he's seen enough mummies to last a lifetime. You and me both, buddy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
The action beats are the same as the earlier Mummys -- with planes, guns, digital creatures and vast armies of the risen-dead having at it. The missing ingredient here seems to be the fun.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
August 1, 2008
Make no mistake, it's bad. But it's fun bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
February 13, 2009
...this thing is cursed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
October 14, 2012
Pray that this is a franchise that's dead for good this time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2008
While plenty of arrows zing, few of the wisecracks or familial confessions in Alfred Gough's and Miles Millar's script hit their mark.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 1, 2008
If Universal wants to continue the tired series after this one, we suggest they take it to Broadway instead, maybe as a musical. How about 'Mummy Mia!'?
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 29, 2008
And in a summer when even the latest Indiana Jones movie is a pale copy of its predecessors, who wants to see a second-rate Indy rip-off?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 31, 2008
The film has one objective: to smack its audience in the face with fleeting, competing wows, over and over.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 1, 2008
The best news about this clangorous clunker is that it may well have vanquished the Mummy franchise.
July 30, 2008
There's an important lesson here: Whatever immortal ninja temple guardians tell you, take it with a grain of salt because they tend to exaggerate. Speaking of untrustworthy pronouncements, remember when Jet Li said he was retiring?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 1, 2009
I too wish this Mummy stayed dead and buried.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
August 1, 2008
I kept waiting for Silver Surfer, Neo, and Snoopy on his damn doghouse to come flying by and yell "Hey Rick! That's a lot of mummies! Mind if WE drop in?"
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 2, 2008
A solitary highlight--when Emperor and Witch call their dead armies to life, his clay soldiers vs her skeleton troops. It's "The Kilning Fields" taking on a Skeleton Crew.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
August 13, 2008
If you are looking for mixed martial arts with a little magic thrown in, then this is the film for you. Otherwise, let me say I hope this Mummy is a wrap.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 1, 2008
It's serviceable summer twaddle, but you might as well see Hellboy II: The Golden Army -- similar plot, much better film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 31, 2008
A dispiritingly witless sequel with very little personality but a lot of frenetic comic banter and numbing set pieces.
July 30, 2008
Could have been a lot worse, but should have been much better ... it's a movie you can watch once and be entertained, but it probably could never sustain multiple viewings like the best summer fare.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Page 1 of 9