Munchie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Munchie Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ July 18, 2014
Potential elements that are soo bad they are enjoyable.
June 23, 2014
A nerdy boy has a hot mom (Loni Anderson). He has a crush on Jennifer Love Heweitt, but is picked on my fellow students, his teachers and hand mother's creepy boyfriend. Lucklily he finds one of the monsters from Munchies, which is now family-friendly. He uses the monster's powers to enact revenage and harm to his enemies. But, he was a good enough to use the powers for good by getting himself pizza. Pretty horrible in every way, even with Dom DeLuise as the monster's voice.
½ March 13, 2014
Why don't you go inside your box and find yourself a new friend?

A kid finds a box in a cave with a chain around it and a pin. The boy unlocks the chain and a Munchie jumps out of the box. The munchies follows him around and makes his life better and his dreams come true; unfortunately, some of the Munchie's decisions makes the kid's mom's life tougher. The child will have to decide if the pros of the Munchie outweighs the cons.

"I'm Mr. Spock. This is captain Kirk. I think it's time to beam him up."

Jim Wynorski, director of 976-Evil, Ghoulies IV, Munchie Strikes Back, Chopping Mall, Deathstalker II, Big Bad Mama II, The Return of Swamp Thing, and Sins of Desire delivers Munchie. The storyline for this picture is a childhood friendly movie from the 80s that is a little less politically correct than today's films. The comedic content is mediocre and the special effects are just okay. The acting is average and the cast includes Loni Anderson, Andrew Stevens, Dom DeLuise, Jennifer Love Hewitt, and Ace Mask.

"How about pulling out that pin so I can get out of here?"

I remember watching this as a kid and not paying that much attention to it. I watched this with my daughter today and I can tell you this doesn't have much going for it. The special effects are lame and outdated. The premise for the film was a completely different direction than Muncies (which I liked better). Overall, I'd skip this picture.

"When I take a lady out I always pay."

Grade: D
September 14, 2013
I miss the late 80's and early 90's, when weird movies like this would be made. This is a fun little film that at it's best is a great character for famed voice actor and comedian Dom Deluise, and at it's worst a poorly puppeted creature and a film which fizzles out towards the end. But I love the concept of the character so much, there's a lot of potential in him!
August 11, 2013
OMG, even my 6 month old grandson puked when this was on Netflix.
February 28, 2013
I remember watching this film as a child, and I just remember it being very forgetful!
March 21, 2012
Dom DeLuise...what more is there to say
½ February 15, 2012
Better than Schindler's List. Non-CGI creatures rule.
June 10, 2010
Just by reading the description on this movie, my face turned purple from laughter. I say A+ because of the good times it created for me and my best friend, unintentionally hilarious.
May 16, 2010
Though it improves on the original Munchies, this un-obtained and unrelated sequel isn't even a reminder of the Munchies franchise. Instead, it feels like a sci-fi version of Air Bud.
½ April 2, 2010
It's hilarious, hilariously bad. I couldn't stop laughing throughout this movie. I'm not sure if they wasted the whole budget on the puppet or not, hard to say cause the puppet is horrible and the actors, story, and plot are worse. Did I mention that the director of this epic movie would later go on to direct horrible softcore porn movies like The Bare Whench Project? I think you can see where this review is going. The second worst thing is they greenlit this movie with this guy directing, oh, and the first I ask? That they let him make a sequel Munchie Strikes Back, LOL!!'
May 22, 2009
Well, maybe I'm being too harsh on this "film". I knew it was gonna be awful before I watched it, so of course, I was right. Luckily, I had some Heineken handy while I watched this. I was at the video store renting Mac and Me, and one of the guys renting movies at the store saw and told me I should rent Munchie to make for an awesome night of horrible movies. Well, it's a crazy movie starring Dom DeLuise as this creepy muppet thing that terrorizes people and likes pizza. Very campy movie, and I'll admit, it was a good movie to get drunk to because it's just so crazy and awful. Oh, and Jennifer Love Hewitt is in this movie credited as "Love Hewitt" and she's about 13.
July 11, 2008
i loved this movie as a kid
April 2, 2008
only because jlh is in it
½ March 31, 2008
It has a young Love Hewitt and a puppet and Loni Anderson. Once you get past all that, it is kind of like going to bed with Loni Anderson only to wake up with Louis Anderson.
March 15, 2008
One of the best movies ever made. Knowing the "Munchie" makes the movie all that much better.
November 17, 2007
I love it when he fantasizes his own funeral; great stuff.
October 26, 2007
awesome movie, munchie is awesome and i have munchie strikes back...which is fnny 2, but supposively they had munchies which was a prequel to this one and the 2nd but i dont see how its not like these, but he helps a kid out and its awesome check it out
October 11, 2007
Pizza-eating puppet grants wishes to boy who fantasizes about his own funeral. Five stars. Its sequel, Munchie Strikes Back, is actually a left-wing, anti-Reagan propagandistic film disguised as children's fare. Keep an eye out for both.
Page 1 of 2