Murder, Set, Pieces - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Murder, Set, Pieces Reviews

Page 2 of 12
April 23, 2012
Rated one of the most violent films ever by Total Film, yes it might well be, trouble is its awful with non existent plot, production values and acting .Risible.
March 21, 2012
I came across this film on many lists of 'shocking' and 'most disturbing' horror movies, but I've seen better serial killer movies with less blood. Plus, it was a bit artsy-fartsy, and the acting is just awful for the kind of movie it's trying to be. It was mildly entertaining.
½ February 16, 2012
" I'm looking for a snuff film, called The Nutbag." lol.

Tedious, overly bloody, badly written & horribly acted, it's like a very bad 70's slasher drive-in flick. The trailer is more interesting then the movie, believe me.
½ November 5, 2011
By promoting itself as the most shocking, grotesque, controversial, etc. film of all time, and being banned from several film labs and the UK (unsurprisingly), it was never going to live up to the hype, even in its uncut form. Essentially a big-budget slasher B-movie, M-S-P is very well made and everything that went into it is astounding but the finished product fails to deliver on any level, especially its shock value (apart from one scene which went way too far).
November 4, 2011
There is a lot to say about Murder Set Pieces, but what does that film has to say about. Well, it is a huge rip from American Psycho, but yet it manages to have some brutal violence and some humor in it. No wait, American Psycho did it better, but that does not mean that Murder Set Pieces is all bad. There are some comical moments and great visuals using light and color and a very cool electronic theme song. The film may be dismissed as torture porn, but I found this closer to violent pornography with a plot than I did to torture porn. It is not as poorly made as it was made out be because there are worst films being sold out there: Feeding Grounds, The Craving, and Sheltered. You interested in this film then I suggest you see American Psycho. I could not understand the character at all or the psychology that plagues him along with his family history. Yet, it is nice to see the misogyny in films alive just like in the tradition of Donā??t Answer the Phone, Donā??t Go Outside, Donā??t talk to Strangers, Maniac, and Donā??t Go in the House.
Super Reviewer
½ October 7, 2011
Although the acting is atrocious, and the story doesn't flow that well, Murder-Set-Pieces is still really entertaining. I can't say it's a great movie, but I liked it a lot. The violence was awesome, and the message behind it will definitely make you think... if you can understand German. Yeah, here's the reason everybody on this page is saying the movie didn't make sense. This film is in English, but at times the photographer will speak German. And it's ONLY when he's speaking German that his actions and story are explained. I enjoyed it, because I can understand German.
Murder-Set-Pieces is a commentary on the Nazis' trivialization of sex and childbirth, resulting in a neglected child who grew up hating his mother and all women like her. Unless you don't understand German, then it's just gory fun... with bad acting.
½ June 24, 2011
3 stars only for having lots of hot naked women! wanted to see thus as apparently its a very dark twisted violent movie, honestly found it boring and thought it was shit! complete waste of my time!
½ May 7, 2011
A mess from beginning to end
½ April 9, 2011
To start off, yes this movie is very very explicit, which is why it caught my eye... So instead of analyzing I will jump right into it... For me the biggest thing for a movie is cinematography. An audience has to see what is being show, they have to see it in a certain way to convey the message of the story, and the audience has to see the actors they came to see. For this movie its biggest drawback is its cinematography. The film wanted to look a certain way (Grindhouse'ish... or dark gritty) but kind of fails. The film would have been better if it were shot clean, somewhat bright, and easy to see (kind of like 'American Psycho'), so you can see the violence and vice, as is you have to squint to see scene that are important to the plot...

I am not saying this movie should copy from other movies, I am rather say that a movie should learn from others and adapt to new and innovative ways. For a movie like this rather than being story driven, it is based more on its harsh grimy imagery. If it fails to frame shots with adequate lighting to see what is going on then something is wrong and a movie is no longer a movie.

The psychotic serial kill vibe was beat to death... when the film had to one up its self and virtually turn to the audience and say "he's a psycho, he will kill anyone, because he is a psycho, and crazy, did we mention he was crazy" the tension is lost and the character looses creativity, subtlety is bliss, build tension, slowly elaborate and make the audience see for themselves rather than throwing them into a whirlpool of insanity... It wasnt a completely bad script, the main character is shown to have flaws (the flashbacks were more interesting that where he is presently). The setting was interesting, even though it was on the verge of off putting since it is so hard to attach oneself to these characters... The seedy vibe of the movie was good but was laid on too thick (when the cleanest and calmest part of the film takes place in an 'Adult Book Shop' as it is getting robbed, then the tone is a bit over baring, which will turn off even the sickest of crowds. I was surprised to see both Tony Todd and Gunnar Hansen (both horror legendary actors)... The gore was accurate and looked very realistic. The nudity was nonchalant, and on the verge of overwhelming (if you have seen this movie, you have to admit there was nudity where nudity didnt need to be shown). The ending wasnt really surprising, it seemed like a cop out. Rather than explaining how everything falls into place and where characters are, it just jumps over that, no clarification on what happened, who's dead, was culminated from the numerous high profile murders... it just ends at an awkward point... Its kind of a let down, and makes me want to watch a better serial killer movie, like 'Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer'...
½ March 14, 2011
Garbage. One day I'll find something good on Netflix streaming.
February 6, 2011
Just a load of sex, blood and gore
½ November 13, 2010
If you want to watch low-rent torture porn, sex and nudity & some cruelty galore, "Murder-Set-Pieces" is for you.
November 1, 2010
See the unrated director's cut version.
August 25, 2010
Really bad flick. The director seems to think he's hot stuff with this one but it should have been called bad fx-no plot-crap instead.
August 15, 2010
Awesome just awesome but dont bother if you cant stomach this stuff read up on it
½ August 5, 2010
I'm not entirely sure how to rate Murder-Set-Pieces, but I do think I enjoyed it, and there are some aspects of it that are almost well-done despite its overall cheap look. Listed as one of IGN's Top 10 Sickest films of all time, Murder-Set-Pieces is pure exploitation. At times, it seems to aspire towards some larger meaning aesthetic, but it never really pulls this off. Instead, it belongs alongside films like I Spit on Your Grave, Thriller: A Cruel Picture, etc. It is nothing more than a barrage of horrific acts: rape, murder, torture, dismemberment, various forms of sexual violence, Nazism, child murder, etc. Murder-Set-Pieces' special effects are extremely well-done--they are the most accomplished aspect of the film in many ways. Be sure to get the director's cut of the film instead of the heavily butchered release. Murder-Set-Pieces plot is simple: a German erotic photographer spends his public life photographing beautiful women and his nights torturing, raping, and murdering women and then lifting weights in the most narcissistically damaged manner possible. The film wants to give depth to give depth to this story by delving into the killer's childhood trauma, exploring his Nazi sympathies, and somehow tying the film into the events of 9/11 in a way that never quite makes sense. Still, I give Murder-Set-Pieces kudos for being an unrelenting spree of mayhem and disturbing imagery that only becomes sicker as the film progresses. Palumbo's film reminds me most of Bret Easton Ellis's American Psycho--indeed, if the film of Ellis's novel had been more ballsy it would have featuring scenes akin to Murder-Set-Pieces because they are very reminiscent of the torturous scenes from the novel. It also reminds me of William Lustig's Maniac because it is focalized around the killer instead of his victims, which makes the insanity and depravity even more unrelenting. Overall, Palumbo's film is not impressive in any aesthetic sense and is not ultimately that important in the history of slasher/serial killer film, but it is truly twisted piece of sicko cinema that might be enjoyed by those with strong cinematic constitutions.
½ July 18, 2010
I'm not entirely sure how to rate Murder-Set-Pieces, but I do think I enjoyed it, and there are some aspects of it that are almost well-done despite its overall cheap look. Listed as one of IGN's Top 10 Sickest films of all time, Murder-Set-Pieces is pure exploitation. At times, it seems to aspire towards some larger meaning aesthetic, but it never really pulls this off. Instead, it belongs alongside films like I Spit on Your Grave, Thriller: A Cruel Picture, etc. It is nothing more than a barrage of horrific acts: rape, murder, torture, dismemberment, various forms of sexual violence, Nazism, child murder, etc. Murder-Set-Pieces' special effects are extremely well-done--they are the most accomplished aspect of the film in many ways. Be sure to get the director's cut of the film instead of the heavily butchered release. Murder-Set-Pieces plot is simple: a German erotic photographer spends his public life photographing beautiful women and his nights torturing, raping, and murdering women and then lifting weights in the most narcissistically damaged manner possible. The film wants to give depth to give depth to this story by delving into the killer's childhood trauma, exploring his Nazi sympathies, and somehow tying the film into the events of 9/11 in a way that never quite makes sense. Still, I give Murder-Set-Pieces kudos for being an unrelenting spree of mayhem and disturbing imagery that only becomes sicker as the film progresses. Palumbo's film reminds me most of Bret Easton Ellis's American Psycho--indeed, if the film of Ellis's novel had been more ballsy it would have featuring scenes akin to Murder-Set-Pieces because they are very reminiscent of the torturous scenes from the novel. It also reminds me of William Lustig's Maniac because it is focalized around the killer instead of his victims, which makes the insanity and depravity even more unrelenting. Overall, Palumbo's film is not impressive in any aesthetic sense and is not ultimately that important in the history of slasher/serial killer film, but it is truly twisted piece of sicko cinema that might be enjoyed by those with strong cinematic constitutions.
July 5, 2010
The sound kept dropping out; I don't know if this was by design to make it seem like an old drive-in movie or if it was just a poor transfer to disc. Doesn't matter, after you've seen a few minutes of this, you really won't care what the main character is saying anyway. Horrible acting all around. Lame story that makes little sense. Some scenes lead absolutely nowhere. The ladies are nice to look at. The kills are unimaginative cut-away shots. Complete waste of time.
½ June 4, 2010
Since the relaxation of censorship laws around 10 years ago this is 1 of the few movies to be banned outright in the UK,due to graphic depictions of murder & sadistic sexual violence. If thats your thing you'll be in 7th heaven, but unfortunately the film hasnt a great deal else going for it.
On the plus side its fairly slickly made- director Nick Palumbo has an eye for the sleazy neon glamour of Las Vegas and the many killings are reaonably well staged. But, bottom line, the movie ( and crucially the lead character, "The Photographer") just doesnt convince. And so, despite the desperate attempts to shock- graphic murders of children, screaming women literally raped to death, cannibalism ect- "Murder Set Pieces" is not nearly as disturbing or thought provoking as that classic study of random murder "Henry:Portrait Of A Serial Killer", or the more exploitative and far grubbier "Maniac" come to that.
The only reason to see this film is the gore, if thats your thing, and admittedly on that "Murder Set Pieces" does deliver. So if thats the case be sure to get the unrated directors cut- apparently theres an MPAA R rated version with over 20 mins of sex and violence removed, which i cant imagine being of interest to anybody!
½ May 22, 2010
I can't do it...I can't even go over the plot to this horrifying excuse for a movie without fear of my teeth trying to leave my mouth and eat my brain. It's torture porn at its worst and that's saying something with terrible movies like Hostel carrying that badge. It's so redundant and non-sensical that it ignores real life to exist in its own little world of killing and porn. Why do we never see one police officer in this movie investigating these killings? Is he killing in the one state that just happens to not have a police force? Good thing, since the idiot decided to wear no extra clothing whatsoever to hide his DNA and fingerprints from being found in EVERY CRIME SCENE HE CREATED! He even left one corpse lying in the middle of a public restroom and later that night, the person was declared MISSING! No one went into a public restroom for 12 hours?! Don't watch it, don't look at it, just pretend it's not there and maybe this garbage will one day go away.
Page 2 of 12