Musa (The Warriors) (Musa the Warrior) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Musa (The Warriors) (Musa the Warrior) Reviews

Page 1 of 17
½ October 24, 2016
Musa is an exciting and well-made film about a group of Korean diplomats escorting a Chinese princess across Mongolian territory. This is a story that is as old as time (The Hidden Fortress, Star Wars), but Musa elevates the material with sympathetic, realistic, flawed characters with understandable motives, and real stakes. I'm quite surprised this movie didn't get more attention in the West, considering the high budget and production value, and multinational cast.
½ August 14, 2015
One of the dumbest movies ever. Ever.
June 26, 2014
A fun, expensive (by Asian cinema standards) period action movie. It is vaguely educational in its historical details, so it may be worth watching if you forget your Chinese dynastic orders.
June 9, 2014
Couldn't get interested in this movie, maybe too far removed from Korea's history for me to care. None of the characters were very interesting. Decent battle scenes, I guess.
December 25, 2013
The movie is
great! Music better than superb. Costumes awesome. Characters so real. Love it!!!
November 9, 2013
Musa The Warrior is one of the best re telling Kurosawa stories with some of the best fightscenes and wonderful script to the movie. I get maximun enjoyment of the 2 and a half hour of epic non Hollywood produced history and its not even rated by RT Critics. Its definetely among one of my favorites in the genre and powerful performances of all who is involved in the movie.
November 27, 2012
I love foriegn movies, and this was one of the best kept secrets for the best period film taking place in 1375 China. Believable, completly real!
July 29, 2012
This isn't a martial arts film, more like a war film as it were, with fight scenes grounded in "real life" physics than in "wire-fu".
½ July 22, 2012
78%

A scorpion crosses the path of a camel.
July 16, 2012
Great on character, a little lax in story, but a beautifully-made film. There is some violence that might be disturbing, much akin to Braveheart. Think of it as a Korean mashup of "Braveheart" and "Seven Samurai."
June 29, 2012
ovaj film ima sve!!!
½ June 20, 2012
Ok, soooo asian war movie , lovely......love that you will not be able to have...blood and super fight scenes ...WHY did they ruin the ending with that stupid POP song?!!?!?
½ May 20, 2012
Occasionally poor directing and a somewhat lacking script are the only things ruining this almost masterpiece.
½ March 3, 2012
a multi-national war epic with a lot of (unnecessary) bloodshed. the changing of dynasties was an uncertain time with a few koryo diplomats caught in the fray. ziyi reprises her 1-d bratty role with her trademark sulky glares as the "helpless" princess. the tension between the general and the ambassador's slave was pretty good though, and the fight scenes highlight yet again, the harsh terror of war, in which everyone loses.
½ March 3, 2012
all i can say is i am so glad i wasn't born in that super chaotic and bloody times! Zhang did a convicing job looking like the spoilt and bratty princess :D
February 16, 2012
Epic.. I liked the way the action scenes were long and exciting, rather than long winded and dull build ups. The story flowed well, and the ending was fitting if not a bit sad. Awful trailer.....don't be put off! Out of all the Asian battle films this is my favourite. Beautiful music score. Forget Red Cliff.....this has more passion and better characters.
January 12, 2012
Great piece of korean cinema, great characters, story and very entertaining history epic. Recommend!
garyX
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2012
A disparate collection of travellers including soldiers, diplomats, and refugees are thrown together in 14th century china as they are pursued by the Mongol army . Known as The Warrior in the UK, this historical epic inevitably draws comparison to Hero and House of Flying Daggers, but actually is more in the tradition of Kurosawa than those more fantasy based offerings. Clearly owing debts to Seven Samurai and The Hidden Fortress in particular, it's also influenced by John Ford's cavalry films in that it takes the time to explore all of the characters involved and the rich collection of antagonistic factions and conflicting loyalties make for a much more interesting character dynamic than most. It may not have the artsy visuals and production value of the projects of Zhang Yimou or Ang Lee but the grittier approach makes for a beautifully crafted historical adventure with just the right balance of heroism and believability, with beautifully shot locations and grippingly realistic, bloody battle sequences. Although it was a co-production with the Chinese film industry, Musa still deserves recognition as one of the films that marked the coming of age of Korean film making and is one of the best Asian historical epics of recent years.
June 26, 2011
Pretty good war epic. Thankfully less cheesy than other Korean war dramas like Tae Guk Gi.
June 23, 2011
What an awsome movie the courage and honor the Korean warriors have. Great loyalty and fighting action all the way through. Does have subtitles but still a great movie and is made well and is must see if you like these type of movies.
Page 1 of 17