Must Read After My Death - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Must Read After My Death Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
February 14, 2009
The film may well have proved revelatory for those who knew its subjects.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Peter Sobczynski
February 20, 2009
A formally intriguing but incredibly depressing examination of a seemingly perfect Sixties-era American family self-destructing before our eyes and ears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 20, 2009
The stuttery films and faded, scratchy photos show us a suburban American family straight out of the media cliche machine.
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 17, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Michael Sragow
Baltimore Sun
February 26, 2009
I applaud Gigantic's desire to bring independent-film distribution into the new-millennial cutting edge. But I'll judge its success only after the company has streamed more real, live movies.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
February 18, 2009
A mesmerizing survey of a family caught up in personal psychodrama, a Running With Scissors without the laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
February 19, 2009
I watched this film horrified and fascinated. There is such raw pain here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
February 26, 2009
Dews helps Allis hold out a gendered posthumous snapshot of an era whose smug surface, barely masking oceans of suffering, makes Revolutionary Road look like a tea party.
Nell Minow
February 19, 2009
The urgency of Allis' message to us -- not "please" but "must read" -- is most honorably discharged and her story lets us hear the voice that was almost silenced.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
February 26, 2009
A bloodcurdling 75-minute diary assembled from an astonishing stash of audiotapes and Dictaphone recordings, cries and whispers out of one documentary filmmaker's family history.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
February 19, 2009
Morgan Dews has fashioned his documentary with a historian's skill and an artist's eye.
John P. McCarthy
Boxoffice Magazine
February 20, 2009
This account of his maternal grandparents and their children functions as a time capsule from 1960s America and as an engrossing alternative to Revolutionary Road.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Nora Lee Mandel
February 21, 2009
One of the most sympathetic and revealing portraits of a suburban woman in crisis ever made in any medium.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
James Rocchi
February 11, 2009
As [director Morgan] Dews cuts and re-cuts home movies and photographs over the words and score; the end effect is as mesmerizing as it is uncomfortable.
Tony Macklin
February 5, 2009
The best thing about Must Read After My Death is that it remains roiling in the mind long after one sees it. Also Dews has made his movie with considerable technical skill.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
February 19, 2009
Riveting, emotionally searing, honest and unforgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.25/10
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
February 27, 2009
A searing and intimate account of an unconventional woman struggling not to lose her identity or her sanity in the rigid 1950s suburban world of stay-at-home moms, well-behaved children and sparkling-clean houses.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Chris Barsanti
March 23, 2009
A polarizing family secrets drama whose moment of revelation is continually diverted in favor of enticing new fragments of the truth...
| Original Score: 4/5
Nick Schager
The Screengrab
February 17, 2009
Intimately, poetically evokes the banal tragedies of one family's 1960s Hartford, CT life.
Page 1 of 3