Mutants - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mutants Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 27, 2013
One sentence summary: Sugar additive meant to cause addiction causes violent monsters instead.
---------

Manufacturer Braylon, who owns the Just Rite Sugar Company, hires biochemist Sergei to design a food additive to increase consumer return rate. Instead, the additive changes human test subjects into overactive and voracious mutants.
'Nothing is going to derail our plans.' That is a clear indication that stated plans will fail, and there will be lots of collateral damage.
During the first half of this film, the human test subjects are only kidnapped and maltreated, and a few are murdered, namely the ones who escape. Experimentation is still going on.
During the second half of the film, the breakthrough in the sugar additive is made, and the monsters start being created. What started as purely chemical research somehow has a viral element.
Griff, Erin, and Sykes find Ryan and attempt to escape with him. Then the violence really starts. The cavalry arrives to exterminate anything living to contain the outbreak before it spreads to the general uninfected population.
----Scores----

Cinematography: 0/10 I've seen 70k budget films with two levels of camera work better than this. Dark, fuzzy, grainy, low contrast. The daytime footage is almost as bad. Much of it looks like bad telephone capture. Lousy CGI for blowing up the lab.

Sound: 4/10 OK some of the time, hollow and poor too much of the time. Irritating incidental music.

Acting: 2/10 Michael Ironside and Steven Bauer were competent, but most of the others delivered performances like those in a bad high school play. Erin is supposed to be Griff's daughter, but she looks like his older sister. Brilliant casting.

Screenplay: 1/10 Almost all the film is a flashback that does not include the only two competent actors: brilliant. The jokes are non-witty and flat. How this many murders committed in open daylight would not be noticed is hard to figure. The interaction between Erin and her father was unconvincing. Ryan getting kidnapped and held for days without being noticed is absurd. Motivation? Try another film. Business logic? Forget that too.
May 3, 2013
Fucking Horrible! Why the fuck was Michael Ironside and Steven Bauer in this fucking movie?!
June 7, 2012
finally an app on my droid that will review these no name movies that rottentomatoes doesn't even have. thanks for all who sacrafice themselves watching this crap savingus money @ the video store!
½ May 30, 2012
Wow this was so bad. . terrible acting horrible everything . . i love me some b movie sci fi but this . .this was horrendous.
May 15, 2012
Arghhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
½ April 5, 2012
It's such a pathetic movie there is no recommendation to even turn this movie on running in the background. Poor story, poor acting, poor dialogue and poor makeup! What mutants?!?!! Don't waste time!
½ September 25, 2011
Usually I can endure slow B movies but this was just awful. This doesn't even deserve a half star. Bad acting and bad effects. The actual cover is even misleading. Don't even waste your time.
Super Reviewer
August 16, 2011
Wow....that was bad. This definately deserves to be on Chiller or SyFy. They just didn't make it look right. And sugar? Really? Sugar? They could of made it alot more interesting if they put in more interesting scenes that even show mutants. HORRIBLE!
½ January 25, 2011
Completely unwatchable. They try to come up with some lame corporate conspiracy bullshit, and it ends up just being boring beyond all hope.

They promised a zombie movie and all we got was talking for an hour and a half.
½ December 15, 2010
Horrendous. I accidentally watched the French 2008 Mutants trailer and expected this movie to be fantastic... This movie was worse than petroleum jelly filled donuts.
Imagine the mindless psuedo-macho attitude of Doom, with the production value of a backyard porn-o.

This movies only redeeming quality is the somewhat interesting plot. If done correctly, this could be a decent post apocolyptic film, as long as you cut out the commando bullshit and focused more on the test subjects... I had to force myself to finish this film, and I do not recommend it to even the most die-hard bottom of the blockbuster rent list movie fan.
½ December 14, 2010
When a corporation begins experimentation of a new, more addictive form of sugar, the results are more deadly than they could have ever expected.

This movie has no new plots elements that you haven't already seen a hundred times before, but it does have the distinction of handling everything really badly. The plot meanders from boring to plain silly, and at times makes no sense whatsoever. The characters are so one dimensional that calling them wooden would be a compliment. Even the inclusion of genre great Michael Ironside can do nothing to save this, and it surprised me that he would even agree to be part of something so amateurish. If you want to watch something more entertaining, I fully suggest that you turn your tv off and watch the black screen for 90 minutes, as you will find it much more rewarding.
½ November 10, 2010
This movie was a total bore and I don't really recommend it unless you feel like wasting your money, time, and/or queue slots. There was way too much useless dialog and I never once got to see a mutant that looked anything like the one on the front cover. This has to be the worst fabrication I've ever witnessed in cinema. The only thing that closely resembled any type of mutation were some mindless zombies that looked like they were having a bad hair day. What a total misrepresentation that was. The acting wasn't that great, nor did it need to be if there were decent creatures to look at, and the movie crawled along at a slow pace like it suffered from polio. If you are looking for a decent Sci-Fi B movie, this isn't it. Just my humble opinion.
August 18, 2010
Arghhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
May 24, 2010
aweful aweful aweful! i rented it because it looked good on the dvd case but the graphics on the case are not even in the film!
April 20, 2010
Wow! Even the description made me laugh...I didn't make it all the way through this one!
March 11, 2010
In Mutants, the seedy Braylon (Richard Zeringue) owns the Just Rite Sugar Company and has hired the equally sadistic scientist Sergei (Armando Leduc) to conduct an experiment to make an addictive sugar stronger than heroin or nicotine to increase his sales. Sergei uses hobos, junkies and street walkers as test subjects in the town of Shadow Rock Mill. When Braylon's men mistakenly kidnap Ryan (Derrick Denicola), who is the brother of his secretary Erin (Sharon Landry) and son of his security chief Griff (Louis Herthum). Ryan becomes an important non-contaminated subject. However, Erin receives some mysterious e-mails from the unknown Cinderella with a picture of Ryan and a hint that he might be in Shadow Rock and together with her father, they decide to seek out Ryan, but not without lots of corrupt security men and corporate villains after them. Oh yeah, at some point, a few zombies walk around. Literally. Don't let the current DVD cover fool you. That creature NEVER appears in the film. The original poster (with a close up of someone in a gas mask, is a bit more accurate. Cult genre actor Michael Ironside (Total Recall, Starship Troopers, The Machinist just to name a few) shows up for a few scenes as a leader in a top secret agency sent in to save the day...I guess. This movie is beyond awful. A complete waste of my time. I feel retarded for not doing my research before hand, because if I had known that Mutants was directed by the same hack who did Carnivorous (aka Lockjaw: Rise of the Kulev Serpent), I would have stayed far away from "Mutants". Horribly titled, horribly directed, horribly written film.
January 7, 2010
finally an app on my droid that will review these no name movies that rottentomatoes doesn't even have. thanks for all who sacrafice themselves watching this crap savingus money @ the video store!
½ December 24, 2009
Je comprends que les realisations qui traitent d'une pandemie generant des zombies et assimiles cherchent a se distinguer a tout prix de leurs concurrents mais tout de meme, le coup des toxicos accros au sucre genetiquement modifie et zombifies par l'etat de manque...c'est un brin limite. Surtout que le fait de bouffer des gens ne joue en rien sur l'apport en glucides, si je me rappelle bien de mes cours de sciences. Une fois le film suffisamment avance, il devient clair que cette idee n'est pas limite du tout puisque le dit film est une abominable bouse meme pas digne d'un projet de fin d'etudes recale en seconde session. Acteurs craignos, scenario nul, action sous prozac et grosses erreurs de mise en scene ("Prenez votre apres-midi Erin" dit le patron alors que la lune est haute dans le ciel). The Mutants est une serie Z effroyablement minable car ni drole ni decalee ni meme maladroite a un stade qui la rendrait attendrissante. Et pour la petite histoire, je ne voulais pas voir cet etron mais l'ai confondu avec autre chose ("The mutant chronicles", qui a l'air un rien plus convenable). Ca arrive, quoi, merde.
½ December 19, 2009
Best thing I can say about it: female lead and first-time actress Sharon Landry is seriously cute.
Super Reviewer
½ November 16, 2009
Wow this was so bad. . terrible acting horrible everything . . i love me some b movie sci fi but this . .this was horrendous.
Page 1 of 2