My Dog Tulip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Dog Tulip Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 15, 2013
A wonderful animated movie for anyone who's ever experienced dog ownership at its most glorious, and most embarrassing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 10, 2011
On and on the indefatigable Plummer talks, to the point that instead of his words endearing you to the film it begins to feel more like the cinema speakers are picking up interference from Radio 4.
June 9, 2011
We are treated to far too much detail about trying to house train Tulip and exactly when, where and how she relieves herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 9, 2011
Here's a rare beast: an animated film about a dog that resists the urge to sentimentalise or anthropomorphise its canine protagonist, yet understands the human urge to do just that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 6, 2011
Affably voiced by Christopher Plummer, Ackerley is at once enormously affectionate and beadily observan, while the clever graphic style marks the switch between straightforward narration and surreal doggy reverie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 6, 2011
In truth, it's boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 6, 2011
Poignant and just the right side of whimsy, it's the movie Marley & Me should have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 5, 2011
Smacks first of obfuscation, then of desperation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 5, 2011
Rarely has a needy bond between human and pet felt more unsentimentally and perfectly observed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 5, 2011
Quirky and bittersweet, a treat for dog lovers and the dogless alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 5, 2011
Unlike most celluloid tales about man's best friend, this study in dedication, defecation and reproduction sometimes feels like an intrusion into a very private affair.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 4, 2011
Is My Dog Tulip the best film ever about a dog? Is it Citizen Canine? My answer, yes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 4, 2011
More Harold And Maude than Marley & Me; amusing, insightful and a little perverse.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2011
Manages to say more about man's relationship with dogs in a single, lush frame than 'Marley and Me' would if it were to run on a loop until the end of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2011
A delightful animation for adults, its lack of sentiment makes it an anti-Marley.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 1, 2011
A classic book, a film to cherish.
March 18, 2011
As embraceable as it is, Tulip often feels as if it would have been a better animated short than a feature.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 10, 2011
It's an oddity, this film: a wry, wobbly cartoon made expressly for grown-ups, featuring quirky hand-drawn animation and very little dialogue outside the central voiceover.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 5, 2011
Many films have been written about the bonds between man and beast but few are as wise, as witty, or as unflinchingly founded in observation as My Dog Tulip.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 4, 2011
The scratchy animation, reminiscent of Jules Feiffer's beatnik-era doodles, is a homey complement to Plummer's autumnal narration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 3