My Dog Tulip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Dog Tulip Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 6, 2011
In truth, it's boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 10, 2011
On and on the indefatigable Plummer talks, to the point that instead of his words endearing you to the film it begins to feel more like the cinema speakers are picking up interference from Radio 4.
June 9, 2011
We are treated to far too much detail about trying to house train Tulip and exactly when, where and how she relieves herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 5, 2011
Smacks first of obfuscation, then of desperation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 30, 2010
The story is often engaging, but do not expect the charm of most dog stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
September 1, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 1, 2010
Never saccharine, My Dog Tulip does justice to the rare experience of heartfelt, mutual love in any form.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 15, 2013
A wonderful animated movie for anyone who's ever experienced dog ownership at its most glorious, and most embarrassing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 16, 2010
Not just a tale of pet-owner devotion, it produces the kind of blunt sincerity, touching compassion and psychological insight that's rare to find in any film.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 6, 2011
It is told from and by an adult sensibility that understands loneliness, gratitude and the intense curiosity we feel for other lives, man and beast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 7, 2011
A marvelous animated feature, full of quiet joy, honest sorrow, wisdom and a wealth of clinical detail both excremental and reproductive, all rendered in a charming style approximating the dog drawings of James Thurber.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 21, 2010
Words of wisdom keep popping up in My Dog Tulip with gratifying regularity. They're more likely to gratify dog lovers than anyone else, but that's a large group to which I belong...
October 22, 2010
The narrative proceeds gracefully, thanks to the Fierlingers' beautiful artwork and the vocal performances by Christopher Plummer, et al.
March 18, 2011
As embraceable as it is, Tulip often feels as if it would have been a better animated short than a feature.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 10, 2011
It's an oddity, this film: a wry, wobbly cartoon made expressly for grown-ups, featuring quirky hand-drawn animation and very little dialogue outside the central voiceover.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2010
A witty, honest and genuinely poignant tale filled with wisdom and humor. It's unlike any dog movie you've ever seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.16/10
November 19, 2010
Stay through the tender closing credits, which acknowledge all of the dogs that contributed barks to the film's soundtrack.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 5, 2011
Many films have been written about the bonds between man and beast but few are as wise, as witty, or as unflinchingly founded in observation as My Dog Tulip.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 30, 2010
It's beautiful, affectionate and elegant.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 31, 2010
The deft filmmaking language soon takes over, bringing J.R. Ackerley's 1956 book to life in a most surprising and offbeat manner, turning the daily business of pooch ownership into a flavorful cinematic poem.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 3