My Dog Tulip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Dog Tulip Reviews

May 3, 2011
Manages to say more about man's relationship with dogs in a single, lush frame than 'Marley and Me' would if it were to run on a loop until the end of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 10, 2011
It's an oddity, this film: a wry, wobbly cartoon made expressly for grown-ups, featuring quirky hand-drawn animation and very little dialogue outside the central voiceover.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 4, 2011
The scratchy animation, reminiscent of Jules Feiffer's beatnik-era doodles, is a homey complement to Plummer's autumnal narration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 3, 2011
A beautifully illustrated love letter to dogs and the people who own them...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 7, 2011
A marvelous animated feature, full of quiet joy, honest sorrow, wisdom and a wealth of clinical detail both excremental and reproductive, all rendered in a charming style approximating the dog drawings of James Thurber.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 6, 2011
It is told from and by an adult sensibility that understands loneliness, gratitude and the intense curiosity we feel for other lives, man and beast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 18, 2010
Here's a boy-and-his-dog story featuring a very old boy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 5, 2010
It's hard not to feel a certain affection for a tale that is so unapologetic about just that: affection.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 21, 2010
Words of wisdom keep popping up in My Dog Tulip with gratifying regularity. They're more likely to gratify dog lovers than anyone else, but that's a large group to which I belong...
October 21, 2010
My Dog Tulip is as disconcerting and unusual a piece of animation as the 1956 memoir that inspired it, and that is saying a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 14, 2010
For the most part, the images undulate. They often appear to be melting. That, or they're streaked or smeared and wholly unruly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
Like the best of Disney's animated films down through the years, the Fierlingers' cartoon celebrates its medium and transcends it. There's great storytelling here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 2, 2010
Sometimes quiet pleasures -- like having a big dog snoozing at your feet, just within petting reach -- are the best.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 1, 2010
Never saccharine, My Dog Tulip does justice to the rare experience of heartfelt, mutual love in any form.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 1, 2010
One of the most sophisticated dog movies ever created.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 1, 2010
Dog lovers won't want to miss My Dog Tulip. Adult dog lovers, that is.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 31, 2010
Transform[s] the seemingly banal relationship between pet and owner into something singular, inimitable, sacred.