My Mother Likes Women (A mi madre le gustan las mujeres) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Mother Likes Women (A mi madre le gustan las mujeres) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 2, 2004
It may be the most heterosexually minded film about lesbians ever made.
August 5, 2004
An aggressively silly take on subject matter that deserves more thought, but the performers -- virtually all of whom are women -- have so much energy and conviction you almost don't notice.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 23, 2004
[A]n uncomfortable combination of self-importance and too-airy casualness...
May 21, 2004
It's trying so hard to be a crowd-pleaser that it never stops to think that you might want to find its characters' behavior believable.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 17, 2004
No matter how hard My Mother Likes Women tries to be witty and insightful, it emerges Almodóvar Lite.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 3, 2004
Elvira, Sol, and Jimena -- named for women in the life of El Cid -- are so spoiled and blind to their mother's happiness that they're often thoroughly unpleasant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2004
The mother's love affair is key, but the movie belongs to Elvira. Leonor Watling brings warmth to this neurotic creature that makes her shine, even in the midst of chaos.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 19, 2004
A graceless film about hateful people...apart from some Prague scenery in the last act, My Mother Likes Women is thoroughly ugly.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
June 8, 2004
The directors' attempt to go slightly high-brow comes off as fake and the heightened state of madcap craziness seems simply forced.
June 19, 2004
Starts strong but then degenerates into a sort of screwball comedy that doesn't serve its premise well.
May 21, 2004
Corny and forgettable.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 19, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 5, 2004
Sardŕ never makes a believable lesbian.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 21, 2004
Cheerfully ham-fisted celebration of love and family in modern-day Madrid.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 3, 2004
The film and its star, Watling, could not be more off-putting.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 18, 2004
My Mother Likes Women wants keenly to be hip and modern, but really it's just an old-fashioned drawing-room comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2004
Almost no one in this film acts or reacts the way someone would on planet Earth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 18, 2004
Despite the promise of its title, this is a movie that skirts the issues of gay relationships at every turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 20, 2004
Like a fourth-generation duplicate of an original--curiously pale and tired although straining for vivacity and color.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 9, 2004
Less side-splitting than a sad reminder of the past.
Page 1 of 2