My Mother Likes Women (A mi madre le gustan las mujeres) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Mother Likes Women (A mi madre le gustan las mujeres) Reviews

September 3, 2004
Elvira, Sol, and Jimena -- named for women in the life of El Cid -- are so spoiled and blind to their mother's happiness that they're often thoroughly unpleasant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
A sometimes cloying mix of screwball comedy and drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2004
Less side-splitting than a sad reminder of the past.
June 24, 2004
Offers some pleasures along the way, including an engaging performance by Leonor Watling.
June 18, 2004
Despite the promise of its title, this is a movie that skirts the issues of gay relationships at every turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 18, 2004
My Mother Likes Women wants keenly to be hip and modern, but really it's just an old-fashioned drawing-room comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 17, 2004
No matter how hard My Mother Likes Women tries to be witty and insightful, it emerges Almodóvar Lite.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 11, 2004
Slight but amusing and likable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 3, 2004
The film and its star, Watling, could not be more off-putting.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 3, 2004
My Mother Likes Women will make you smile and feel generously enlightened at the same time.
June 2, 2004
It may be the most heterosexually minded film about lesbians ever made.
May 21, 2004
It's trying so hard to be a crowd-pleaser that it never stops to think that you might want to find its characters' behavior believable.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 21, 2004
Corny and forgettable.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 21, 2004
There's a strong heart beating beneath the foolishness and one wonderful performance from Leonor Watling.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 20, 2004
The fizz of playful sexual anarchy bubbles like spiked ginger ale through the comedy, whose two stars are veterans of recent Pedro Almodóvar films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 18, 2004
This first Spanish feature helmed by two women sidesteps the over-earnestness or high camp that hallmark so much gay-themed Hispanic cinema, and also provides the best showcase so far for actress-to-watch Leonor Watling.
May 18, 2004
Leonor Watling ... plays the spectacularly neurotic middle daughter with dizzying abandon and single-handedly saves the day.