My All American Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 22, 2018
It's a story worth knowing and a life worth celebrating - we could all be inspired by this young man's insight and determination. If you're looking for a family film with an inspirational and affirming message, go!
August 22, 2016
My All American means well, and as a film it isn't without merit; sadly there just isn't enough of it for this inspirational sports story to emerge victorious.
February 24, 2016
Not an inspirational football movie but the highlights reel from one, with a golden boy who is his own manic pixie dreamboat. The worst sort of hagiography.
January 29, 2016
We're never invested in the sanitary white-bread story that renounces drama and entertainment for the sake of accuracy and a squeaky-clean PG rating
November 22, 2015
Other than a moving conclusion, this is a mediocre sports drama.
November 19, 2015
Michael Reilly Burke and Robin Tunney are good as Steinmark's parents, while as Steinmark's devoted high-school sweetheart, Sarah Bolger makes a mark for herself as someone to watch.
November 17, 2015
My All-American is a red-blooded, God-fearing cavalcade of wall-to-wall, inspirational earnestness.
November 17, 2015
Commits a major gaffe by overpolishing Freddie Steinmark, undermining the impact of his real-life story.
November 17, 2015
Almost unwatchable, outside of Texas.
November 14, 2015
Everything in the film may be true, but every second feels contrived, and that's a momentum killer that leaves "My All American" wide open to an all-out blitz of rolling eyeballs.
November 13, 2015
... an easily digestible slice of Texas football nostalgia that stumbles short of the goal line.
November 13, 2015
"My All American" scores additional points for its emotional impact.
November 13, 2015
Even those who love inspirational sports films might have to flinch from "My All American" is a movie so square, conservative and humorless that it winds up playing like a brutally straight-faced "South Park" parody of gridiron schmaltz."
November 13, 2015
Instead of genuine inspiration, the movie provides only flimsy, superficial positivity.
November 13, 2015
This is the kind of movie they make you watch in grade school. It's meant to be good for you, and the entry-level script has every clich in the playbook.
November 13, 2015
My All American really has only one goal: putting a lump in your throat at watching a kid refuse to stop believing that every one of his dreams could come true. Lump delivered.
November 13, 2015
American football is played on a rectangle, but movies about it can sure be square.
November 13, 2015
Don't get me wrong; this film accurately shares a wonderful guy's all-too-short life with us. I only wish it had been delivered in a more well-rounded way.
November 13, 2015
Heartfelt (if bland) football biopic is great for game fans.
November 13, 2015
For those looking for a sports film of basic quality and genuine narrative, "My All American" is definitively useless.
Page 1 of 3