My Best Fiend (Mein liebster Feind - Klaus Kinski) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Best Fiend (Mein liebster Feind - Klaus Kinski) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 26, 2007
A thoughtful and clever examination by the director of his longstanding friendship and creative partnership with the late Klaus Kinski.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 26, 2006
Herzog's and Kinski's collaboration was one of the strongest in cinema, and the movie does justice to that energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 5, 2005
Herzog reveals the genius and madness of his best fiend Klaus Kinski.
| Original Score: 5/5
June 28, 2005
It feels a lot more like a cheap shot than a tribute.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 9, 2005
Kinski's egomania is offered up by a quote of his that the only interesting landscape on earth is that of the human face.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 12, 2002
The pairing of the director and actor invariably resulted in extraordinary creative collaborations. These men -- arrogant, ambitious, sadistic, fanatical, and in Kinski's case, probably insane -- certainly deserved each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 5, 2002
My Best Fiend is Herzog's contentious remembrance of the late actor but, while fascinating, it really doesn't add up to much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 21, 2002
Kinski wasn't the wrath of God, but he was a damn fine actor, and this documentary so entranced and informed me, that I plan on going out and seeing every one of his films again.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 14, 2001
As documentaries go, this one is second-rate, consisting of almost nothing but Herzog sitting in locations at which he and Kinski once filmed and reminiscing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 14, 2001
Klaus Kinski was one helluva showman, and no filmmaker was better able to capture the explosive talent of his favourite fiend than the director of this fine documentary, Warner Herzog.
Read More | Original Score: 81/100
January 1, 2000
While My Best Fiend -- does a splendid job of chronicling the high drama and creative pinnacles of their work together, it emphasizes the most public and bleakly amusing aspects of their story.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
What's the difference between artistry and bravado? This isn't a question I generally feel inclined to ask, but I'm compelled by the work of Werner Herzog, who scrambles the two until it's difficult to tell which is which.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
My Best Fiend is about two men who both wanted to be dominant, who both had all the answers, who were inseparably bound together in love and hate, and who created extraordinary work -- while all the time each resented the other's contribution.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Even if the guy is the German Marlon Brando, it's hard to sit munching your popcorn as he continually berates his fellow actors.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Herzog's portrait of his friend is as mad as his films, and as fascinating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
The film does become a fascinating portrait of the talented but mercurial Kinski.
January 1, 2000
A genuine love/hate portrait of Kinski that acknowledges his acting talent but doesn't hesitate to capture his notorious behavior.
January 1, 2000
With generous clips from Herzog and Kinski's collaborations, My Best Fiend is one of the great portraits of artists fighting, even with murderous rage, to reach the sublime.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Fiend is more often a self-congratulatory showcase for the films of Werner Herzog than a satisfying exploration of artistic collaboration and personal dysfunction.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Mein Liebster Feind is a tentative exploration of the borders of friendship, madness, and genius.
Page 1 of 2