My Blueberry Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Blueberry Nights Reviews

Page 2 of 7
May 22, 2008
My Blueberry Nights at any length doesn't begin to answer the question why Jones, who seems nice in a bland, girl next door way, would ever be tapped to star in a movie.
May 21, 2008
It's essentially a gloriously romantic film made by a very romantic filmmaker who can see beauty where none supposedly exists.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 16, 2008
The ensemble drama has some modest charms, which includes a surprising, old-fashioned sweetness and interpretation of romance.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 16, 2008
... dreamy, woozy, elliptical and gorgeously infused with orange-red light and smeary Matisse blues. It's visually beautiful and its open-ended narrative is loose and suggestive
Full Review | Original Score: 82/100
May 13, 2008
It's sweet and mostly satisfying, like a silky dessert at the end of a relaxed meal.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 9, 2008
[A] flaky disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 9, 2008
The casting problem starts with the movie's lead, Norah Jones.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 2, 2008
(Norah) Jones doesn't merely hold her own in a pouty screen debut of note; she looks comfortable and purrs with the confidence of someone who belongs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 2, 2008
It's not the pie that is meant to make this watchable, it is Wai's greatest gift, observing people, little slices of life in New York, Memphis or Nevada. Unfortunately in this case, those slices don't add up to a meal, or even dessert.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2008
But it's not the English that seems to trip up the writer-director; it's the language. Wong's script, co-written with Lawrence Block, tosses out the filmmaker's genius for non-verbal characterization and replaces it with talk, talk, talk.
April 30, 2008
Less sensuous than the pie la mode, more nuanced than the doors opening and closing, cutting the cards might not change any odds, but it does offer an illusion of choice.
April 28, 2008
...less than the sum of its parts, [but] some of those parts are wonderful.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
April 25, 2008
A moody, beautiful romance.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
It's a stylish and sweet film with moments of affecting brilliance that counterbalance its flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 25, 2008
Fans of Chinese director Wong Kar Wai's dreamy, romantic films will find My Blueberry Nights a luscious treat, although newcomers to his world of sensuous longing will no doubt wonder what all the fuss is about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
The bad news about My Blueberry Nights is that it feels like an exaggeration to call it an actual movie.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 25, 2008
My Blueberry Nights can be sexy as hell, but for the first time in a Wong film, I felt duped for being so easily seduced.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 23, 2008
Like the pies that give the film its title, My Blueberry Nights is really just a dessert, something sweet and mostly insubstantial.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 21, 2008
My Blueberry Nights captures the overwhelming and uncontrollable emotional assault of loving and living through captured moments and sensuous images.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 18, 2008
As someone who has an aversion to most contemporary romantic movies, Wong is a filmmaker whose lush romanticism makes me swoon.
Page 2 of 7