My Blueberry Nights - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Blueberry Nights Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
May 16, 2008
The ensemble drama has some modest charms, which includes a surprising, old-fashioned sweetness and interpretation of romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
May 16, 2008
... dreamy, woozy, elliptical and gorgeously infused with orange-red light and smeary Matisse blues. It's visually beautiful and its open-ended narrative is loose and suggestive
Full Review | Original Score: 82/100
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
May 13, 2008
It's sweet and mostly satisfying, like a silky dessert at the end of a relaxed meal.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
May 9, 2008
[A] flaky disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
May 9, 2008
The casting problem starts with the movie's lead, Norah Jones.
| Original Score: 2/4
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
May 2, 2008
(Norah) Jones doesn't merely hold her own in a pouty screen debut of note; she looks comfortable and purrs with the confidence of someone who belongs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 2, 2008
It's not the pie that is meant to make this watchable, it is Wai's greatest gift, observing people, little slices of life in New York, Memphis or Nevada. Unfortunately in this case, those slices don't add up to a meal, or even dessert.
| Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2008
But it's not the English that seems to trip up the writer-director; it's the language. Wong's script, co-written with Lawrence Block, tosses out the filmmaker's genius for non-verbal characterization and replaces it with talk, talk, talk.
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
April 30, 2008
Less sensuous than the pie la mode, more nuanced than the doors opening and closing, cutting the cards might not change any odds, but it does offer an illusion of choice.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 28, 2008
...less than the sum of its parts, [but] some of those parts are wonderful.
| Original Score: 3/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 25, 2008
A moody, beautiful romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
April 25, 2008
It's a stylish and sweet film with moments of affecting brilliance that counterbalance its flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
April 25, 2008
Fans of Chinese director Wong Kar Wai's dreamy, romantic films will find My Blueberry Nights a luscious treat, although newcomers to his world of sensuous longing will no doubt wonder what all the fuss is about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
April 25, 2008
The bad news about My Blueberry Nights is that it feels like an exaggeration to call it an actual movie.
| Original Score: 2/4
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle
April 25, 2008
My Blueberry Nights can be sexy as hell, but for the first time in a Wong film, I felt duped for being so easily seduced.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
April 23, 2008
Like the pies that give the film its title, My Blueberry Nights is really just a dessert, something sweet and mostly insubstantial.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
April 21, 2008
My Blueberry Nights captures the overwhelming and uncontrollable emotional assault of loving and living through captured moments and sensuous images.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
April 18, 2008
As someone who has an aversion to most contemporary romantic movies, Wong is a filmmaker whose lush romanticism makes me swoon.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
April 18, 2008
Only in flashes does Wong Kar-Wai let you forget about the relentless, meticulous beauty long enough to lose yourself inside it.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
April 18, 2008
Wong Kar Wai's strange pastry-filled reverie My Blueberry Nights is not for those who like movies in which things happen; rather, it's for those in a mood to float, sometimes deliciously.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 7