My Country, My Country - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Country, My Country Reviews

October 13, 2006
A compelling report.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 12, 2006
A memorable portrait of a nation's growing pains.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 29, 2006
In 90 captivating minutes, Laura Poitras' extraordinary documentary My Country, My Country gives you a greater understanding of the situation in Iraq than you'd get from 100 hours of Fox News or CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 15, 2006
What My Country, My Country does best is show us that while both the Americans and the Iraqis care about the country's future, their cultural backgrounds and world views inevitably make them seem alien to each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 14, 2006
Remarkable.
September 8, 2006
... sobering documentary ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 1, 2006
The movie attempts to paint too large a canvas.
August 9, 2006
Though the events have a rambling overfamiliarity, there's a real story between the lines: the resentment over the U.S. occupation on the part of non-insurgent Iraqis.
Read More | Original Score: B-
August 5, 2006
Quietly damning.
Read More | Original Score: B
August 4, 2006
From its plaintive title to its melancholy soundtrack, My Country, My Country is an appropriately mournful look at the chaos of Iraq under American occupation.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 4, 2006
Often, the film is muddled -- it isn't until the second half that the doctor who is the main subject is revealed to be a Sunni who considers the people who blow up schools and police stations to be 'the resistance.'
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 4, 2006
Hard to watch but important to see, this compassionate documentary tracks the considerable travails of Iraqis living under U.S. occupation.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 3, 2006
A still-timely, quietly hard-hitting look at the Iraqi situation.
August 3, 2006
My Country, My Country chronicles events leading to the January 2005 Iraq elections with such breadth and detail that it almost feels as if they're being revealed for the first time.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 2, 2006
... easily the most valuable piece of film to emerge about the war in all of its three-plus years.
April 11, 2006
Laura Poitras' illuminating documentary provides a vivid picture of the events surrounding the January 2005 Iraqi election.