My Cousin Vinny - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Cousin Vinny Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 24, 2015
The undercurrent of fish-out-of-water silliness goes a long way towards perpetuating the affable atmosphere...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 30, 2014
With such canny scene-stealers as Gwynne, Smith, Pendleton, McGill and Chaykin filling out the cast, it is very hard for My Cousin Vinny to go wrong, and indeed, for the purpose of pleasant Saturday night entertainment, it does not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 30, 2014
Marisa Tomei, as Vinny's fiancée, imbues the most obligatory reactions with either a startling ferocity or a farcical ambiguity worthy of her character's name: Mona Lisa Vito.
April 30, 2014
As Vincent Gambini, a swaggering pint-sized New York lawyer who only recently passed the bar on his sixth try, Pesci modulates his usual psycho-nuttiness and gives it some recognizably human, even melancholy, undertones.
April 30, 2014
The pacing is brisk and the energy of the performances is so palpable that even at its silliest and most contrived, the film is enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 30, 2014
My Cousin Vinny is a hoot.
April 30, 2014
The regional stereotypes in Dale Launer's broad script aren't so laudable, but the on-screen talent merits a retrial: Tomei talks up a storm and Pesci terrorises thinly spread gags into near-shape.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 30, 2014
For all of its grossly stereotypical characterizations and cheap laughs, My Cousin Vinny does benefit from Pesci's characteristically energetic performance. And co-star Tomei looks very nice in a clinging blue dress with gold lame applique.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 30, 2014
I don't want to oversell My Cousin Vinny. It's hardly brilliant. But it's easygoing and occasionally quite funny and ultimately satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 30, 2014
[An] enjoyable fish-out-of-water comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 30, 2014
Joe Pesci has more energy than charm in the title role, but the supporting cast has some terrific moments, and the comedy supplies a fair number of laughs before running completely out of steam.
April 30, 2014
As comedies go, My Cousin Vinny is nothing special, but it has a nice, cartoony vitality.
June 17, 2012
Marisa Tomei won the Supporting Actress Oscar for this shallow but mildly enjoybale fish-out-of-water comedy, playing Joe Pesci's street smart girlfriend.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 24, 2010
Apart from Pesci being too old for the part as written, My Cousin Vinny holds up pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2009
The minor miracle of My Cousin Vinny is that--though the picture never scores any guffaws, the villains remain off-screen, and the conclusion is never in doubt--the movie's full two-hour running time passes so breezily. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 27, 2008
A rare comedy that never quite wears out its welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 27, 2008
Tomei, sashaying through the proceedings as kind of a sexy hood ornament, creates a buoyant chemistry with her combative b.f.
May 27, 2008
Smart-talking comedy with Joe Pesci in fine form.
May 27, 2008
While it's easy to imagine an infinite number of bad courtroom comedies based on this scenario, this movie turns out to be wonderful -- broad and low character comedy that's solidly imagined and beautifully played.
March 1, 2008
| Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 3