My Dog Skip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Dog Skip Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 1, 2000
It was hard for me to concentrate on My Dog Skip because there was someone in the theater who wouldn't shut up: the narrator.
July 10, 2003
So riddled with live-action Disney movie clichés that I kept waiting for Cruella de Ville to show up and threaten to skin the dog alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 14, 2001
An affectionate and tender family film...
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
They may find themselves mystified and a little bored by a movie designed to leave their adult companions misty-eyed.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
Worst of all, the Jack Russell playing Skip is allowed to mug à la Frasier's Eddie instead of behaving like an actual canine.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2000
The banal voice-over narration by Harry Connick Jr., combined with the gooey score and feckless direction adds up to a sterilization of American life that makes Norman Rockwell look like Diane Arbus.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Paint -by- numbers stuff.
January 1, 2000
Although it's light, it's never quite illuminating.
January 1, 2000
In a 12 month period, [Warner Brothers will] have distributed 3 movies with either the word 'dog' in the title or primarily about canines, more than all other distributors combined.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Many will find their tender emotion buttons bruised from the constant battering of the filmmakers' oversized pointers.
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
This might well be worth a rental for the kids when it comes out on video, but it's a bit too literary despite the wonderful cinematography.
Read More | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
Though sincerely, often tenderly filmed for good humor and credible life lessons, My Dog Skip walks an uneasy path between nostalgic reverie and gut-grabbing melodrama.
January 1, 2000
Kids will be bored; adults will admire the movies good intentions, but be bored as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
There are movies about dogs. And there are movies that are dogs. My Dog Skip is both.
January 1, 2000
It may make you cry, but not because you've seen something worthy of your tears.
July 24, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 69/100
May 14, 2003
| Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 5