My Fellow Americans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Fellow Americans Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
July 24, 2016
The humor is clearly of the lowbrow variety, but Lemmon and Garner handle their lines with the conviction of Royal Shakespeare Company members tackling Macbeth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Stephen Hunter
Baltimore Sun
October 22, 2013
If My Fellow Americans had ever decided which movie it wanted to be, it might have been pretty good. As it is, the good half and the bad half all but cancel each other out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Desmond Ryan
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 22, 2013
Using talent of this order on a script this weak, along with merely decorative appearances by the likes of Lauren Bacall and Wilford Brimley, amounts to the Hollywood equivalent of government waste.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
October 22, 2013
If only movies could be impeached.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
October 22, 2013
Mostly, My Fellow Americans is solidly written, offbeat entertainment well-served by the fine leads, clever casting of supporting roles and a script that holds together, even through a less-than-stellar finale.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
October 22, 2013
As political satire, My Fellow Americans makes a poor candidate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

TV Guide
October 22, 2013
The surprise of this comedy... is how sharply written it is -- almost sharply enough to overcome the crude direction that grotesquely overemphasizes the picture's inevitable sentimental interludes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
New York Daily News
October 22, 2013
Yes, it's Grumpy Old Presidents, in which most of the comedy comes from the supposed shock of hearing two senior citizens cursing at each other in terms Beavis and Butt-head would find inelegant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
October 22, 2013
I'd cheerfully vote the writers, director and producers of My Fellow Americans out of office.
Jake Hamilton
Empire Magazine
October 22, 2013
Okay, so it's Midnight Run meets All The President's Men, but the Lemmon-Garner rapport is dynamite and the glittering support cast of Lauren Bacall, Dan Aykroyd and John Heard are given sparkling dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
October 22, 2013
The movie suggests we get the government we deserve, but do we really deserve this movie?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
October 22, 2013
It takes a special actor's grace to survive a script as lame as My Fellow Americans, and James Garner has it. Without appearing to break a sweat, Garner makes each grotesquely desperate attempt at humor look smooth and assured.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
October 22, 2013
An appalling piece of junk.
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
October 22, 2013
Peter Segal's comedy has a few witty moments surrounded by a lot of silliness.
Top Critic
October 22, 2013
Garner and Jack Lemmon have enough charisma, and there are enough solid laughs, to mostly overcome My Fellow Americans' embarrassing moments and improbable ending.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Enthusiastic as one might be that Jack Lemmon has found a new lease on movie life with his Grumpy Old Men series, the funny-crankpots genre wears mighty thin on this road trip.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
April 3, 2005
Strained and obvious political comedy that wastes some really great actors.
| Original Score: 2/5
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum
July 16, 2003
Garner and Lemmon's chemistry save the film.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
May 20, 2003
Mr. Lemmon and Mr. Garner are such pros that they carry the movie smoothly over its dull patches.
| Original Score: 3/5
Jim Shelby
Palo Alto Weekly
May 20, 2003
It's a buddy film. It's a conspiracy thriller. It's a political parody. What it isn't is a particularly funny movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 3