My First Mister - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My First Mister Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 1, 2015
Offbeat friendship is provocative, dark, but sweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 25, 2008
The actors earn the couple of salty drops you may shed at the end -- the script sure doesn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 7, 2003
A beautiful story about finding camaraderie, and ultimate love in the infrequent of places
| Original Score: 3.5/5
January 10, 2003
...while Ghost World is, on the whole, a slightly better movie, My First Mister is nevertheless worth checking out mostly due to two incredible lead performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 9, 2002
Starts out as a deliriously original "odd couple" comedy, and then hangs a quick left turn into shameless tear jerking.
Read More | Original Score: 68/100
April 24, 2002
A good small movie featuring a different kind of love story..
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 5, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 30, 2001
She's not just tattooed and surly and he's not just geeky and stern - their characters are beautifully written and fleshed out gradually and admirably by the actors.
Full Review| Original Score: 5
October 29, 2001
Brooks and Sobieski shine throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 28, 2001
A testament to both Sobieski and Brooks -- especially Brooks, who is Oscar-worthy here -- that we buy into their film's manipulative tendencies and its demands of unconditional acceptance.
October 26, 2001
It will have you smiling so much, that you may not even notice how close it comes to sliding into mediocrity.
October 26, 2001
As you watch Sobieski work, you sense you're in on the start of something special.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 26, 2001
Christine Lahti makes an assured directorial debut, allowing the relationship between J. and Randall to play out at its own natural pace.
October 23, 2001
A rarity this -- an older man paired with a younger woman that doesn't produce a loud, vulgar gagging sound from the back of the viewer's throat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 22, 2001
Despite the sloppy final act, My First Mister is worth seeing for Brooks and Sobieski's performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 22, 2001
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
October 19, 2001
Though I wanted to hate My First Mister and felt guilty about those telltale tears mopped up with a shirt sleeve, the darn thing did work.
October 15, 2001
Suddenly this enchanting tale of cross-generational friendship becomes a Lifetime movie of the week, pat ending included.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 15, 2001
Distinguished actress Christine Lahti's feature directorial debut...suffers from a touch too much structure and a script that pedals a tad too hard on sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5