My First Mister - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My First Mister Reviews

Page 1 of 5
October 10, 2001
60 minutes into My First Mister, I was thoroughly engrossed. A half-hour later, I desperately wanted the whole mess to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2001
The schmaltz is as thick as vomit.
October 12, 2001
Beautiful and so phony it makes you urp.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
February 28, 2001
Terribly caricatured around the edges, and far too much of the comedy stems from making light of stereotypical personality traits.
October 11, 2001
Predictable and manipulative, complete with a clichéd Hollywood tearjerker ending.
April 29, 2009
Terrible script, terrible plot, clichés and plot holes galore...
October 10, 2001
Tilts too steeply into movie-disease-of-the-week territory.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
October 12, 2001
A big-screen version of a turgid 'disease of the week' TV movie with an odd-couple twist.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 12, 2001
Lahti has undermined her stars and delivered dreck.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 13, 2001
When a movie starts out as trenchant as "Ghost World" then turns into something as mawkish as "Steel Magnolias," it's been botched, plain and simple.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 18, 2001
There is a static feel to the film that neglects the actors in favor of the contrived story of life, love and death.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 12, 2001
Harold & Maude it ain't.
October 12, 2001
If the girls in Ghost World were to see this one, they'd gag.
October 12, 2001
Although the movie has its moments, it's a tearjerker that jerks too hard.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 13, 2001
There's a terrific movie somewhere inside Christine Lahti's My First Mister, but it's kept hidden by the trite trappings of a Lifetime movie-of- the-week.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 13, 2001
Scene after scene suddenly rings with a resounding falseness [in the second half].
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 11, 2001
Not one second of it is believable, not one scene looks right, not one performance salvages the growing pile of snotty Kleenex it wishes you'd cry into.
October 11, 2001
One hundred and nine minutes of drama and not a single moment rings true.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 12, 2001
If the Hallmark Hall of Fame folks had made Ghost World, it would probably end up a lot like My First Mister.
October 12, 2001
A small movie full of good intentions and wildly erratic execution.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5