My Flesh and Blood - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Flesh and Blood Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 1, 2003
The documentary debut of Emmy Award-winning Bay Area TV journalist Jonathan Karsh pays a price for its hands-off approach.
November 26, 2003
You'd have to be a stone not to be affected by My Flesh and Blood, but the director, Jonathan Karsh, merges compassion with voyeurism until you can't tell the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 6, 2003
Fails to resonate with anything more than the quotidian rhythms of a uniquely dysfunctional family.
November 28, 2003
The audience witnesses not only the incredible humor and joy and confidence that [Susan] has instilled in her children and the unanticipated turmoil the clan.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 25, 2003
Despite, or perhaps because of, the jollity that reigns in this household, one wants to ask the Mia Farrow question: Why does this woman keep surrounding herself with others who are completely reliant on her?
November 28, 2003
Karsh does a remarkable job of sorting through his footage to make a flowing story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 21, 2004
Next time your boss is being a jerk, take a look at My Flesh and Blood.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
November 24, 2003
Poignant, disturbing, and thoroughly captivating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 26, 2003
My Flesh and Blood is an engrossing documentary about a truly nurturing adoptive mother of eleven special-needs children.
November 28, 2003
An unforgettable experience.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
November 28, 2003
A movie that quickly shows us what giving thanks, and being brave, is really all about.
November 28, 2003
There may have been 'no grand plan' to Susan Tom's life, as she says, but grand is a good word for what's happened.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 5, 2003
One of the most profoundly moving and inspiring documentaries in recent memory.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 9, 2003
Full of life, the characters openly share moments of startling intimacy, hardship, and triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 30, 2003
takes us to a place that many of us will find difficult and joyful at the same time
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 31, 2004
Serves as a moving reminder that there are people out there who walk the walk and serve as examples of the humanity we all should be exhibiting in our own lives.
February 12, 2003
The footage of these children isn't always pleasant to watch, but it's my feelings toward the family that really started to bother me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 28, 2003
Some of the afflictions are so disturbing, you might have to turn your eyes from the children. Susan Tom doesn't have that option. And 11 children are all the better for it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 16, 2003
The Tom family's amazing, eye-opener of a story gives you new appreciation and respect for the abilities of the handicapped.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 25, 2003
Single motherhood has seldom looked as daunting and enervating as it does in this unsentimental documentary.
Page 1 of 2