My Flesh and Blood - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Flesh and Blood Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Larry Carroll
December 1, 2003
The documentary debut of Emmy Award-winning Bay Area TV journalist Jonathan Karsh pays a price for its hands-off approach.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
November 26, 2003
You'd have to be a stone not to be affected by My Flesh and Blood, but the director, Jonathan Karsh, merges compassion with voyeurism until you can't tell the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Maria Garcia
Film Journal International
December 6, 2003
Fails to resonate with anything more than the quotidian rhythms of a uniquely dysfunctional family.
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
November 28, 2003
The audience witnesses not only the incredible humor and joy and confidence that [Susan] has instilled in her children and the unanticipated turmoil the clan.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
November 25, 2003
Despite, or perhaps because of, the jollity that reigns in this household, one wants to ask the Mia Farrow question: Why does this woman keep surrounding herself with others who are completely reliant on her?
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
November 28, 2003
Karsh does a remarkable job of sorting through his footage to make a flowing story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Christopher Null
November 21, 2004
Next time your boss is being a jerk, take a look at My Flesh and Blood.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
November 24, 2003
Poignant, disturbing, and thoroughly captivating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
November 26, 2003
My Flesh and Blood is an engrossing documentary about a truly nurturing adoptive mother of eleven special-needs children.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
November 28, 2003
An unforgettable experience.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
November 28, 2003
A movie that quickly shows us what giving thanks, and being brave, is really all about.
Top Critic
John Anderson
November 28, 2003
There may have been 'no grand plan' to Susan Tom's life, as she says, but grand is a good word for what's happened.
| Original Score: 3/4
Timothy Knight
December 5, 2003
One of the most profoundly moving and inspiring documentaries in recent memory.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Peter Debruge
Premiere Magazine
December 9, 2003
Full of life, the characters openly share moments of startling intimacy, hardship, and triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
November 30, 2003
takes us to a place that many of us will find difficult and joyful at the same time
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
January 31, 2004
Serves as a moving reminder that there are people out there who walk the walk and serve as examples of the humanity we all should be exhibiting in our own lives.
Doug Brunell
Film Threat
February 12, 2003
The footage of these children isn't always pleasant to watch, but it's my feelings toward the family that really started to bother me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
November 28, 2003
Some of the afflictions are so disturbing, you might have to turn your eyes from the children. Susan Tom doesn't have that option. And 11 children are all the better for it.
| Original Score: 3/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
November 16, 2003
The Tom family's amazing, eye-opener of a story gives you new appreciation and respect for the abilities of the handicapped.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
David Ng
Village Voice
November 25, 2003
Single motherhood has seldom looked as daunting and enervating as it does in this unsentimental documentary.
Page 1 of 2