My Kid Could Paint That - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Kid Could Paint That Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 16, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That may not deal with life-or-death matters like murder or child molestation, but it raises questions that will nag viewers for days and weeks after the experience.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 16, 2007
Mostly, the movie is a cautionary tale of the fragility of childhood innocence, with Marla becoming an enigma just by being her little-girl self.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 15, 2007
Amir Bar-Lev's feature-filmmaking debut is easily one of the most fascinating documentaries you'll see all year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 9, 2007
Captivating story that just gets more intriguing as it goes along.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 8, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That is great theater, thereby proving that even a story as unique as this can't stay fresh without a little media-manipulated drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 3, 2007
A bit ragged around the edges technically, but makes up for the imperfections on that score with its engrossing content.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 2, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That is documentary gold, and you will have formed an opinion on the controversy by the time you leave the theater. You may not know art, but you'll know what you like.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 2, 2007
More than a standard child prodigy profile, My Kid Could Paint That turns into a priceless examination of modern art, celebrity and what it means to be a kid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 2, 2007
The self-reflexive narrative is particularly fascinating because Marla's story is so critical to selling her art; everyone involved, the filmmaker included, has a vested interest in proving it genuine or fake.
November 2, 2007
It's a thought-provoking look at the world of abstract art, the relationship between a reporter and his/her subject, and the nature of parenting, prodigies, and "objective" storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 1, 2007
Documentarian Amir Bar-Lev began making a film about whether Modern art is a scam and whether a 4-year-old painter from Binghampton, N.Y., might not be as good as Picasso. But Bar-Lev ended making a film instead about whether the 4-year-old is a scam.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 1, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That is a documentary that brings to the fore questions of youth exploitation, celebrity culture, the "con game" that is modern art and media's role in the whole tangled mess.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
October 26, 2007
A true conundrum: You can't say for sure if a scam is in play or if a genuine genius is being smeared. And the brilliance of the film is that it doesn't let you feel secure in choosing either side.
Read More | Original Score: B+
October 25, 2007
Maybe the paintings (many of which are quite extraordinarily complex and beautiful) are indeed collaborations of a sort between Mark and Marla; should it matter?
| Original Score: 3.5/5
October 20, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That is a fascinating portrait, as much about media manipulation, the art establishment and parenting as it is about a little girl who happens to like to paint.
October 19, 2007
While My Kid doesn't suggest that "truth is relative," it doesn't insist on a single judgment of truth. Instead, it asks viewers to ponder how certainty and doubt reinforce one another, how the need for truth creates its own truth.
October 19, 2007
Bar-Lev has made a refreshingly honest documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
Bar-Lev proves to be a remarkably sensitive filmmaker, one who asks questions with fairness and insight and who is constantly asking himself what effect he's having on the story.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 19, 2007
My Kid Could Paint That keeps us intrigued by the questions, long after its last shot of Marla.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 19, 2007
This is a really fascinating movie, but you'll wish it were longer -- long enough, say, to see how history treats Marla's work. Or maybe just long enough to see her enter Grade 1.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 2 of 5