My Life as a Zucchini (Ma vie de courgette) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
March 29, 2019
The movie possesses a naturalistic tone, style, sound and pace quite unlike anything else in the current world of animated film.
March 4, 2019
A wispy running time and an overly Disneyfied ending is somewhat at odds with its more profound content, but a genuine heart remains firmly, and proudly, upon its sleeve.
February 6, 2019
Moving, beautifully real and thought-provoking for children and adults alike. Go see this film!
February 6, 2019
In the end, My Life as a Zucchini was a bit too discordant for my tastes but it's still worth seeing.
August 23, 2018
These weird-looking little clay people reach a level of emotional realism many human actors fail to achieve, and your time with them will be very worthwhile.
August 22, 2018
Written by Celine Sciamma (Girlhood), My Life avoids the cliches about children in care, and those who look after them, in favour of a story that does not shirk from bleakness as it inches towards the light.
August 21, 2018
Claude Barras' colorful stop-motion animation isn't your typical children's film. It both celebrates the potential of new beginnings while refusing to shy away from the disturbing realities that caused such transitions in the first place.
March 8, 2018
My Life as a Zucchini has grace and charm, but what breaks your heart is its mental toughness.
January 8, 2018
Between the dark and the luminous; between fatalism and hope. [Full review in Spanish]
January 2, 2018
Never panders or becomes cloying on its way to a well-earned 'we are family' conclusion.
December 29, 2017
The movie is dark, but in a nurturing way, if that makes sense. It's suitable for kids because Zucchini is largely about healing - not in a sticky-sweet way, but by small, slow increments.
December 29, 2017
My Life as a Courgette is a tender, funny and wise-beyond-its-years stop-motion animation that takes on tough subject matter through the eyes of a child.
December 28, 2017
My Life as a Zucchini is not condescending but warm. [Full review in Spanish]
December 16, 2017
This is a film that finds hope and wonder and joy in a world that can be harsh and unfair and director Claude Barras acknowledges both.
December 15, 2017
... a fascinating venture in social realism.
November 18, 2017
French screenwriter (and frequent director) Céline Sciamma excels at making coming-of-age films.
November 10, 2017
Charmingly homespun, the stop-motion animation is intricate and expressive, allowing the kids' unique personalities to shine forth from their petite frames and oblong heads.
October 4, 2017
My Life As A Courgette isn't a kid's film - it's a family film, fit for viewing together and evoking discussion, reflection and consideration.
September 12, 2017
Downright Dickensian, treating with serious dignity the darkest kind of childhood, one stripped bare of love or any kindness.
September 11, 2017
Barras' technique is a sophisticated update of classic stop-motion clay animation...It's a laborious process-especially for a small, independent studio like Barras' with only 10 staff animators. But the result is obviously a labor of love.
Page 1 of 7