My Life Without Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Life Without Me Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 29, 2009
Polley gives an outstanding performance...
April 1, 2007
A gigantically amoral cliche of a film.
December 6, 2005
Fascinating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 26, 2005
My Life Without Me is not a gentle film. Insistent and unforgettable, it wounds on the inside, and the scars feel fresh for some time.
September 16, 2004
(...) Una de las películas más hermosas que se hayan filmado sobre eso tan extraño y tan temido que es el tiempo que queda antes de morir.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 14, 2004
A grande força (do filme) reside na poderosa performance da jovem Sarah Polley.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 10, 2004
Watching My Life Without Me is enervating. Coixet is so determined not to indulge the story's potential for sentiment that she overcompensates on the dreariness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 30, 2004
This is a film for people who like to cry, and there's a contrived element that's inherent to the beautiful-death genre. Still, Polley is the film's saving grace...
January 19, 2004
Plagued by phony poetic moments and self-conscious quirkiness (Maria de Medeiros appears as a braid-wearing hair stylist obsessed with Milli Vanilli...)
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 5, 2004
A shameless, rather dull disease-of- the-week weeper.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/5
December 31, 2003
Gets that messy emotional juncture between bruised torment and naked despair just right
December 11, 2003
It takes considerable sleight of hand, and a certain temerity, to fashion an uplifting tale about death. Yet My Life Without Me pulls it off.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 5, 2003
My Life Without Me thematizes the perennial problem of identifying with characters.
December 2, 2003
a warm, melting analysis of life through the cold eye of death.
November 28, 2003
Coixet doesn't make her lead character compelling, or likable.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 21, 2003
It's not likely the viewer will get much from these experiences, either, altough the movie does have an ear for the mordantly funny line.
November 21, 2003
My Life Without Me only has one way to go, and it makes some dippy turns getting there. But Polley makes the trip worth it.
Read More | Original Score: B-
November 21, 2003
A good example of how Polley elevates nearly everything in which she appears.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2003
Polley's performance is pitch-perfect, and that the world described herein -- glazed with humor as well as melancholy -- is devoid of phony sentiment.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 14, 2003
Ann's melodramatic take on death is, in the end, selfish and cruel to those she loves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 5