My Life Without Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Life Without Me Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 14, 2003
Curiously, this weepy drama seems a little flatter, less involving, than it should. Especially with a cast like this.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 14, 2003
A strangely grim affair that will stretch the patience of more than a few viewers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
November 7, 2003
Silly, dull and depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 7, 2003
Depressingly unmoving, thanks to unaffecting performances and a story that holds no surprises.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2003
Everything is so picture-perfect that it plays like hackneyed fiction rather than the real-life drama to which it aspires.
November 5, 2003
Coixet's dignified, heartfelt little indie drama proves that dying young doesn't always come with the schmaltz of a Julia Roberts movie. Outstanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 2, 2003
...pulls out all the stops to elicit the requisite emotions from the audience, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 2, 2003
It could have easily toppled over into the maudlin. That it doesn't is due in tremendous part to Polley's effortless performance as Ann.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 31, 2003
Against all odds, My Life Without Me succeeds in spite of itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 31, 2003
An odd and really wonderful mix of sadness and wonder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 31, 2003
Less a tearjerker than a thought-provoker.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 26, 2003
My Life Without Me is an impressively acted, uplifting, thoughtful film that transcends its seemingly depressing subject matter. Highly recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2003
Takes place in late fall and early winter, when everything is cold, gray and dying. It's a tough context for a tender story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 24, 2003
Coixet does an admirable job of sustaining the sadness for long stretches of time.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 24, 2003
What's miraculous about My Life Without Me is that the movie avoids bathos almost entirely, its considerable potential for cloying sentimentality undercut by a streak of wry, gentle humor.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 24, 2003
Makes you think twice about what's really important in life and a movie that can do that is a movie worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 24, 2003
A movie that is spare, candid and beautiful in every detail.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 22, 2003
Polley's Ann is scrappy, honest, and warm, not someone to be pitied or doubted or chastened.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2003
A sweetly specific story, tenderly told.
Read More | Original Score: B+
October 17, 2003
Too flat and confined and false.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 2 of 5