My Life Without Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Life Without Me Reviews

September 26, 2005
My Life Without Me is not a gentle film. Insistent and unforgettable, it wounds on the inside, and the scars feel fresh for some time.
November 28, 2003
Coixet doesn't make her lead character compelling, or likable.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 21, 2003
My Life Without Me only has one way to go, and it makes some dippy turns getting there. But Polley makes the trip worth it.
Read More | Original Score: B-
November 21, 2003
A good example of how Polley elevates nearly everything in which she appears.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2003
Polley's performance is pitch-perfect, and that the world described herein -- glazed with humor as well as melancholy -- is devoid of phony sentiment.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 7, 2003
Depressingly unmoving, thanks to unaffecting performances and a story that holds no surprises.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2003
Against all odds, My Life Without Me succeeds in spite of itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 31, 2003
Less a tearjerker than a thought-provoker.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 24, 2003
Takes place in late fall and early winter, when everything is cold, gray and dying. It's a tough context for a tender story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 24, 2003
What's miraculous about My Life Without Me is that the movie avoids bathos almost entirely, its considerable potential for cloying sentimentality undercut by a streak of wry, gentle humor.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 17, 2003
Too flat and confined and false.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 17, 2003
This one-dimensional ennoblement doesn't sit quite right.
October 17, 2003
The beauty of this tender gift of a movie is that it treats the daily life of tiny obligations and pleasures as something to pay exquisite heed to.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2003
Despite some initial misgivings, My Life Without Me wound up breaking down my resistance.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 17, 2003
Ann ... would be a cruel egocentric if she weren't so obviously just a fictional pawn.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 16, 2003
What saves My Life Without Me from the status of a five-Kleenex weepie is the maturity of vision that permeates the writing and direction and shines through each performance.
October 16, 2003
Ms. Coixet's actor-friendly direction and character-friendly screenplay evoke strong performances from most parties.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 10, 2003
One of the year's sweetest surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 10, 2003
My Life Without Me is a young person's movie about death, the sort of adolescent daydream in which you imagine your own demise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 9, 2003
A tear-jerker where the tears are cut by more than a dash of cynicism.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 8, 2003
[A] truly inspiring cinematic achievement.
September 29, 2003
... one of the most unusual and thought-provoking stories of the fall season.
September 28, 2003
My Life Without Me is essentially the same old Hollywood eyewash about the noble mother suffering silently for the sake of her children, it's about as phony and manipulative as a movie could be.
September 26, 2003
Intelligent and affecting as the film is, it buckles under the weight of overexplicitness, a tendency to say more than it needs to.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 26, 2003
The movie is affecting, in its own quiet way, and beautifully acted.
September 26, 2003
This contemplative drama manages to dodge mawkish potholes to emerge as a strangely life-affirming work.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 26, 2003
It's hard to take this movie seriously. It's the cinematic equivalent of dotting your i's with a big heart, a very youngish view of life and death in which everything is too neatly wrapped up with a bow.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 26, 2003
The performances are determinedly low-key, and Ms. Coixet directs even the most charged scenes in a cool, almost affectless style. But the implicit narcissism of the film's title is embraced without really being examined.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 26, 2003
A splendid cast, coupled with Isabel Coixet's deeply committed writing and direction, goes a long way to make this movie affecting to watch even it if doesn't hold up well to reflection once the lights go up.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 24, 2003
Polley's performance is characteristically honest.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2003
Transforming [Ann] into a woman who wants what she wants and reaches for it now, Polley not only subverts cliché but humanizes one of the most hard-heartedly malicious phrases in the American language -- trailer trash.
September 24, 2003
A movie about terminal illness that even the Lifetime Television Network might reject.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 23, 2003
A tearjerker that falters in its attempts at deep thoughts.
May 8, 2003
Affirms life in surprising and gratifying ways that shed light on who its characters are and how they come to value life through a death.