My Lucky Star - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Lucky Star Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Nick Usen
Slant Magazine
September 16, 2013
Yet another limp spy spoof that fails to make any interesting critiques about the genre, let alone construct a humorous gag.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Top Critic
Martin Tsai
Los Angeles Times
September 19, 2013
While the film does not lack production values and panache, Gordon's direction often seems thoughtless.
Radheyan Simonpillai
NOW Toronto
September 19, 2013
If this dreck is what the Chinese market thinks we like, you have to wonder what kind of impression our movies make on them.
| Original Score: 1/5
Nick Schager
The Dissolve
September 19, 2013
Appropriating American rom-com tropes with such gusto...My Lucky Star is a cutesy Chinese caper cooked up with nothing but old scraps.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Dann Gire
Chicago Daily Herald
September 19, 2013
Zhang's character is so idiotically naive and her adventures so flairlessly executed that it's the thing to escape from.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
Village Voice
September 17, 2013
Being successful involves knowing that light doesn't equal stupid, and discerning between formula and formulaic. Neither director Dennie Gordon nor the four credited screenwriters of My Lucky Star seem able to make those distinctions.
Top Critic
Mark Jenkins
Washington Post
September 19, 2013
While Zhang is one of China's greatest international stars, "My Lucky Star" is utterly provincial.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Knight
National Post
September 20, 2013
The result is the blandest of both worlds. My Lucky Star is neither a particularly thrilling spy movie nor a very original romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
September 19, 2013
The movie displays a fair amount of visual invention in its sight gags, stunt choreography, and bright color schemes.
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
October 3, 2013
(A) candy-floss concoction that is never particularly gripping but certainly delivers slick visuals and an engaging bunch of performances from a committed cast.
Michael A. Smith
MediaMikes
September 26, 2013
Director Gordon keeps the story flowing smoothly and the photography, by cinematographer Armando Salas, is picture perfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Maggie Lee
Variety
September 20, 2013
My Lucky Star is wholesome, effortless entertainment that runs smoothly enough but seldom takes one's breath away in the romance department.
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
September 19, 2013
After watching it, you may need a few moments to remember which decade this is, because the film has the tone and silliness of a "Pink Panther" movie or an episode of the 1960s sitcom "Get Smart."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
September 19, 2013
In spite of its drawbacks, My Lucky Star is always fun to watch and better than, say, a Jennifer Aniston/Gerard Butler vehicle.
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
September 19, 2013
It's hardly original, but as the plot bounces from Singapore to Hong Kong and the lavishly gaudy Venetian Resort in Macao, "My Lucky Star" plays out like a sparkling, brightly lit travelogue with Zhang as a bubbly tour guide.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
James Verniere
Boston Herald
September 20, 2013
Ziyi Zhang as heroine in 'Scott Pilgrim vs. the World' rom-com? Yes.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 1