My Old Lady Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 5, 2019
At times a richly observed portrait of coming to terms with the traumatic events of the past when we're finally forced to, more often than not, the film's awkward tonal shifts lends the film a generally unpleasant ambience.
May 31, 2019
It's absorbing, even if its pace is somewhat stately, and, although its resolution is in many ways telegraphed by its context, it still has the power to tug at the heartstrings in a most unexpected way.
February 23, 2019
The actor [Kevin Kline] captures this man's vulnerabilities and struggles in a hugely sympathetic way.
August 22, 2018
[Fits] into the unflatteringly dubbed "grey-pound" category, a genre that seeks to tell stories of later life in the most disappointing and unimaginative ways.
August 22, 2018
A quiet, thoughtful and ultimately satisfying film, "My Old Lady" is a truly well-executed story told by some of the finest actors you can possibly watch in a film.
February 2, 2018
... bittersweet humor, with a history of family secrets... [Full review in Spanish]
November 28, 2017
It's very easy to imagine the story on stage, but the transition to film maintains a powerful degree of intimacy.
October 30, 2017
Smith and Scott Thomas fare better than Kline, who is too eager to force his own rubbery comic personality through his character's considerable flaws. He's also terrible at drunk acting.
September 12, 2017
The plot thread that entangles all these people and places may not be entirely unexpected, but it's all handled with enough sensitivity and panache to keep us engaged.
September 7, 2017
It's a big ask for these characters to unburden themselves from years of emotional baggage with a balance of humour and pathos, but the classy cast get pretty close to pulling it off.
September 22, 2016
I'd praise Horovitz for going the darker route if My Old Lady wasn't so wrenchingly obvious and Kevin Kline's character wasn't so venal and cruel.
December 9, 2015
A movie chock full of cliches, very predictable ones, although undeniably entertaining. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 3, 2015
I needed a little something to lift my spirits, and I found "My Old Lady" did the trick.
January 23, 2015
Kline and Smith have some nice moments together, even if the transition from breezy comedy into more serious drama is clumsy.
November 23, 2014
Just when you think the story is going to proceed on a well-worn, cosily romantic track, its characters unpack their emotional baggage, revealing unexpected depths of hurt and taking the film into bittersweet dramatic territory.
November 23, 2014
It's solidly predictable and somewhat grating, only partially redeemed by a reliably watchable cast.
November 21, 2014
As we learn more about the tormented family backgrounds, broken love affairs and suicide attempts of the protagonists, the film begins to sag under the weight of its characters' mounting self-pity.
November 21, 2014
This is sensible, straightforward mature-age viewing, devoid of dumb jokes, cheap thrills or goofy gimmicks.
November 21, 2014
Having Maggie Smith on screen is like biting into a crisp, slightly sour apple. Even when she is playing a woman in her nineties, quilted with wrinkles, the interior is deliciously tart.
November 21, 2014
A bitterly funny pas de trois character dramedy performed by three compulsively watchable actors.
Page 1 of 5