My Own Private Idaho - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Own Private Idaho Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 5, 2016
"My Own Private Idaho" is both a love story and a tragedy. It remains the high point in Gus Van Sant's career.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
June 2, 2014
A simultaneously heartbreaking and exhilarating road movie.
June 2, 2014
Holding all these elements together is Van Sant's sensibility, such an elusive thing it instinctively squirms away from any attempt to pigeonhole it.
June 2, 2014
Although River Phoenix has distinguished himself as an actor ever since his second film, Stand By Me, nothing he has ever done before prepares you for his performance in Private Idaho as the motherless, homeless, loveless piece of human driftwood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 2, 2014
Cracked and beautiful, stranger than strange, yet in some assuring way so pulsing with life that it embraces you as warmly as Father Knows Best.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 2, 2014
Van Sant proves again that he is masterful at charting the hearts and minds of young people adrift.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 2, 2014
This is a very rich, very sympathetic piece of work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 2, 2014
One of the most original cinematic talents at work in this country, Van Sant has a knack for pulling disparate elements together and twisting them into wildly funny lyrical odysseys of the mind and heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 2, 2014
Audacious, controversial, directional, important and totally unique, you'll either love it or hate it. But see it!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 2, 2014
American indie god Gus Van Sant's most iconic moment was this giddily rich revisionist road movie-cum-western.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 2, 2014
Written and directed by Gus Van Sant, who mingles tremendous visual imagination with a leaning toward off-the-wall situations and sometimes raunchy images.
June 2, 2014
Director-writer Gus Van Sant sets up disturbing -- and, often, oddly comic -- situations and then gives his characters (and actors) the freedom to explore them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 27, 2014
...gets off to a gangbusters start. And then Shakespeare butts in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 12, 2012
My Own Private Idaho might be the perfect cinematic time capsule for '90s aimlessness, universal in its details.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 7, 2012
Van Sant photographs the story in his trademark dreamy-surreal style, fusing elements of Warhol with the classic American road movie, and interpreting the Western as the refuge of society's maligned fringe.
| Original Score: 5/5
September 17, 2011
My Own Private Idaho is a seminal movie for many people. It certainly has been for me.
September 7, 2011
My Own Private Idaho lacks the dramatic punchiness of Drugstore Cowboy, yet it's a rich, audacious experience.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 18, 2008
My Own Private Idaho is a far cry from seamless, but I would gladly trade a dozen well-made studio movies for one of its vital parts.
July 3, 2008
One of those ambitious, over-reaching disappointments that is more interesting than some more conservative successes.
July 3, 2008
One of Gus Van Sant's most personal visions.
Page 1 of 3