My Own Private Idaho - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Own Private Idaho Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 2, 2014
It's a very poetic film. That is, it includes images that may mean more to the director than the spectator, but the film is an interesting one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 2, 2014
The two actors create vivid characters, but they're so unsympathetic and Van Sant drags them through so many tiresome, pretentious scenes that it begins to look as if Phoenix's narcolepsy isn't part of the plot.
June 2, 2014
Van Sant takes a lot of chances, and, visually, the movie is so imaginative, so fiercely alive, that it carries us along. But when the over-all design of the picture becomes clear, we feel cheated rather than enlightened.
June 2, 2014
[Van Sant] disdain[s] narrative. He got away with Drugstore Cowboy because its band of drugged-out dodoes were engaged in a petty crime spree that almost passed for a plot. But My Own Private Idaho is a different story. Or rather nonstory.
October 9, 2005
| Original Score: 1/5
July 25, 2002
Van Sant's tale of street hustlers is so barren that even the magnetic River Phoenix can't do much to help.
| Original Score: 0/5
February 19, 2003
I think this movie gave me narcolepsy
| Original Score: 0/5
March 24, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
June 29, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
June 2, 2014
The movie weakens every time Mike's story is interrupted by the leaden allusions to Shakespeare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 2, 2014
Van Sant proves again that he is masterful at charting the hearts and minds of young people adrift.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 6, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
The achievement of this film is that is wants to evoke that state of drifting need, and it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 7, 2012
Van Sant photographs the story in his trademark dreamy-surreal style, fusing elements of Warhol with the classic American road movie, and interpreting the Western as the refuge of society's maligned fringe.
| Original Score: 5/5
June 2, 2014
Audacious, controversial, directional, important and totally unique, you'll either love it or hate it. But see it!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 25, 2006
A quite stark, poetic rumination on the unyielding desire for home.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 17, 2011
My Own Private Idaho is a seminal movie for many people. It certainly has been for me.
June 2, 2014
Cracked and beautiful, stranger than strange, yet in some assuring way so pulsing with life that it embraces you as warmly as Father Knows Best.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 2, 2014
One of the most original cinematic talents at work in this country, Van Sant has a knack for pulling disparate elements together and twisting them into wildly funny lyrical odysseys of the mind and heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 7, 2005
Gus Van Sant's best movie.
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3