My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 11, 2010
Directed and co-written by Herzog (with Herbert Golder) and executive produced by Lynch,[the film] offers a whiff of originality in a sea of cinema schlock. But compared to both filmmakers' prior works, it's nowhere near as memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 7, 2009
My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done is more controlled in its absurdism than Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans, but it is easily the lesser work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 12, 2009
A visually stylish, mildly engaging crime drama that's often tedious, sophomoric, increasingly dull and lacking in suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/10
February 26, 2010
Clearly, Herzog isn't interested Advertisement in making a conventional melodrama, but unconventionality isn't enough to hang a movie on.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
December 11, 2009
While watching Werner Herzog's My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done you might be tempted to murmur, "My Werner, My Werner, What Have Ye Done."
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 26, 2009
Both baffling and mystifying, the film details a descent into madness with God in a boombox, worshipped oatmeal boxes, and the designated lunatic's proclaimed mantra, minus reference to any white whale though flamingos may be implicated, as Call Me Farouk
September 6, 2010
Both baffling and mystifying, the film details a descent into madness with God in a boombox, worshipped oatmeal boxes, and the designated lunatic's proclaimed mantra, minus reference to any white whale though flamingos may be implicated, as Call Me Farouk
April 9, 2010
It's more of a curiosity than an actual film and barely even works as that. For hardcore Lynch or Herzog fans only and even they should be prepared for something of a disappointment.
December 14, 2009
Herzog's latest film is at once his most indifferently crazy work to date and quite possibly the biggest failure of his career.
| Original Score: 2/5
December 18, 2009
As a writer-director with five decades' worth of notable screen work to his credit, [Herzog] certainly can't be faulted for taking risks, even if it means now and then, well, falling on his sword.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 18, 2009
An unusually unwatchable effort from filmmaker Werner Herzog...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 10, 2010
It's like Psycho remade by Ed Wood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 3, 2011
What they deliver is the sort of fake mysticism that usually ensues when secular intellectuals try to plumb the depths of religious faith.
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 11, 2009
Herzog's second film of the year -- the supposed antidote to Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans -- is such a confused jumble of influences that it is completely ineffectual both as an experience and as an instrument of dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 29, 2010
The viewer is left to ponder what it's all about, and what its purpose may have been, which, knowing Lynch and Herzog, might well be what it was about, and what its purpose was.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 26, 2010
Lynch and Herzog have tickled us for years with their dwarves and iguanas and impenetrable stories. This collaboration represents the vanishing point of willful obscurity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 10, 2010
The film can be funny and even epiphanic, but when Brad Dourif and an ostrich doesn't get a laugh, you're trying too hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 8, 2010
One of Herzog's quirky misfires.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 3