My Super Ex-Girlfriend - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Super Ex-Girlfriend Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
July 21, 2006
Hiding in My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a clever conceit that never gets to reveal itself fully.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend sets the cause of psychotic superheroines back about 30 years. The movie roils with more unexamined hostility towards women than a roomful of Taliban clerics.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 21, 2006
There's a funny idea here, but you might not know it from Don Payne's script, or, for that matter, from Ms. Thurman's performance.
Luke Goodsell
Empire Magazine Australasia
November 7, 2012
Though not without its amusements, My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a high-concept studio pitch trying to pass itself off as an actual movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Michael Szymanski
Hollywood.com
August 24, 2006
How can a movie with such talented performers and such an original concept seem so entirely like a re-tread? Help them Superman!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 20, 2006
There's so much going on that the movie never explores the comic potential of Thurman's unique character. Does G-Girl go mental because she's a superhero, or was she always destined to be a bunny boiler? Does she like being super? And what are her powers?
| Original Score: 1/4
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
August 2, 2007
at heart a deeply misogynistic view of female empowerment.
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a romantic comedy from a stereotypically masculine perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
July 20, 2006
Has occasional spurts of laughter but is otherwise benign and dopey.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 20, 2006
Uma Thurman does double duty as a New York neurotic, Jenny Johnson, and a secret superhero, G-Girl, in a shaky comedy directed by Ivan Reitman.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 21, 2006
There are about 20 minutes worth of decent sketch comedy here, which means this one beats the summer's other Wilson brother comedy, You, Me and Dupree.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 22, 2009
What probably should have been an R-rated movie, ala "The 40 Year-Old Virgin," comes off as a half-hearted attempt at poking laughs with unlikable characters.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
July 20, 2006
The movie's too slapdash to keep its characters consistent, but this has its moments.
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
July 23, 2006
This is certainly not good news for My Super Ex-Girlfriend, a lame laugher whose anemic superpowers couldn't put a dent into a marshmallow with a rusty hammer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Film Threat
August 1, 2006
...Neither fun nor funny.
| Original Score: 1/5
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
July 24, 2006
Not even SuperUma can save this chunk of comedic kryptonite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
December 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Utichi
FilmFocus
August 6, 2006
The good news is that My Super Ex-Girlfriend does actually end.
| Original Score: 1/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
July 21, 2006
a bland movie that isn't quite sure if it is a parody of romantic comedies, a parody of superhero movies or a parody of Uma Thurman.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 7