My Super Ex-Girlfriend - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Super Ex-Girlfriend Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 21, 2006
Hiding in My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a clever conceit that never gets to reveal itself fully.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend sets the cause of psychotic superheroines back about 30 years. The movie roils with more unexamined hostility towards women than a roomful of Taliban clerics.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 21, 2006
There's a funny idea here, but you might not know it from Don Payne's script, or, for that matter, from Ms. Thurman's performance.
November 7, 2012
Though not without its amusements, My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a high-concept studio pitch trying to pass itself off as an actual movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 24, 2006
How can a movie with such talented performers and such an original concept seem so entirely like a re-tread? Help them Superman!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 20, 2006
There's so much going on that the movie never explores the comic potential of Thurman's unique character. Does G-Girl go mental because she's a superhero, or was she always destined to be a bunny boiler? Does she like being super? And what are her powers?
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 2, 2007
at heart a deeply misogynistic view of female empowerment.
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a romantic comedy from a stereotypically masculine perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 20, 2006
Has occasional spurts of laughter but is otherwise benign and dopey.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 20, 2006
Uma Thurman does double duty as a New York neurotic, Jenny Johnson, and a secret superhero, G-Girl, in a shaky comedy directed by Ivan Reitman.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 7, 2008
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 21, 2006
There are about 20 minutes worth of decent sketch comedy here, which means this one beats the summer's other Wilson brother comedy, You, Me and Dupree.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 22, 2009
What probably should have been an R-rated movie, ala "The 40 Year-Old Virgin," comes off as a half-hearted attempt at poking laughs with unlikable characters.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 20, 2006
The movie's too slapdash to keep its characters consistent, but this has its moments.
July 23, 2006
This is certainly not good news for My Super Ex-Girlfriend, a lame laugher whose anemic superpowers couldn't put a dent into a marshmallow with a rusty hammer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 1, 2006
...Neither fun nor funny.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
July 24, 2006
Not even SuperUma can save this chunk of comedic kryptonite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 6, 2006
The good news is that My Super Ex-Girlfriend does actually end.
| Original Score: 1/5
July 21, 2006
a bland movie that isn't quite sure if it is a parody of romantic comedies, a parody of superhero movies or a parody of Uma Thurman.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 7