My Super Ex-Girlfriend - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Super Ex-Girlfriend Reviews

August 3, 2006
At one point, jealous Thurman tosses a live shark into Matt and Hannah's love nest. Unwittingly plunged into this farrago, the shark earns my sympathy.
July 28, 2006
...A movie that would rather tweak male paranoia than liberate a nerdette terrified of her powers.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 22, 2006
The Ivan Reitman-directed comedy manages to sap the charm from everyone in its cast, all of whom have shone quite brightly in other settings.
July 22, 2006
Most of the jokes are left flapping like a fish on the line, delivered with zero energy by the leads...
Read More | Original Score: C
July 21, 2006
The fusion of effects-fueled action fantasy with comedy worked well for director Ivan Reitman 22 years ago in Ghostbusters and, less so, five years ago in Evolution. But, it fails to save his latest, My Super Ex-Girlfriend.
July 21, 2006
There's a funny idea here, but you might not know it from Don Payne's script, or, for that matter, from Ms. Thurman's performance.
July 21, 2006
[Ivan Reitman's] funniest movie since Ghostbusters, and a riff on superhero mythology that plays like a mashup of Bewitched (the TV show, not the movie), The Breakup and Fatal Attraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
A less willfully misogynist movie might have made Thurman's double identity the starting place for an exploration of female power, super- or otherwise.
July 21, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend, simply by having a genuinely funny idea at its core, is one of the summer's better comedies, and director Ivan Reitman and the cast give it a straight-faced silliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
The movie is unable to achieve lift-off and transcend the formulaic stuff coming out of Hollywood, despite the perfect casting of Uma Thurman, emboldened by a killer image from Kill Bill, in the title role.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2006
If the script for this comic spin on Fatal Attraction were only a tenth as hot as Uma Thurman, director Ivan Reitman might have had something here.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2006
This sophomoric mix of the supernatural and screwball from Ivan Reitman is diverting, cheesy fun, with Thurman's G-Girl as a droll combination of Superwoman and Uber Shrew.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 21, 2006
For all its many shortcomings, this old-school laugher is a pleasure to sit through.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 21, 2006
There are about 20 minutes worth of decent sketch comedy here, which means this one beats the summer's other Wilson brother comedy, You, Me and Dupree.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 21, 2006
My Super Ex, directed by comedy veteran Ivan Reitman (the Ghostbuster movies) from a clever high-concept script by Don Payne (The Simpsons), is as cool a summer lark as you'll find.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend, despite a couple of amusing moments and the presence of The Office's Rainn Wilson, never really takes off.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2006
Director Ivan Reitman, who's been busting our guts since Ghost Busters, stirs a high-concept stew of Fatal Attraction meets The Incredibles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
Funnier than Nacho Libre, more fashionable than The Devil Wears Prada, able to deliver more revengeful thrills than X-Men: The Last Stand in a single scene.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
Directed by Ivan Reitman with the same loopy amiability he brought to hits like Ghostbusters, Junior and Dave in decades past, it is a solid summer confection with no pretensions.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 21, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend dispels any doubt that the philosophy of high concept -- in which a film's entire content can be contained in the title or one brief phase, a la Snakes on a Plane -- is back in vogue.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 21, 2006
Hiding in My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a clever conceit that never gets to reveal itself fully.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2006
The movie is a dude's one-way fantasy tinged with an element of fear. It's unfortunate that the premise falls so comfortably along trite gender lines.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2006
The real heavy lifting (both literal and figurative) is left to Thurman, who commits to the craziness with gusto.
July 20, 2006
Girlfriend skewers both superhero films and romantic comedies. And it does so with surprising deftness; Girlfriend is not only the funniest film of summer; it may be the best superhero film since Spider-Man.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 20, 2006
The movie's too slapdash to keep its characters consistent, but this has its moments.
July 20, 2006
Two lessons learned: Dump a superheroine at your own risk. And animatronic sharks sure have come a long way since the days of Jaws.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 20, 2006
For a movie about an unstable superhero who dresses like Carrie Bradshaw after a gamma zap, Ex-Girlfriend is cleverly attuned to the real-life nadirs of big-city psychosexual dynamics.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 20, 2006
Uma Thurman does double duty as a New York neurotic, Jenny Johnson, and a secret superhero, G-Girl, in a shaky comedy directed by Ivan Reitman.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 20, 2006
Wilson does his callow good-guy routine (if you close your eyes you'd swear he was his brother, Owen) and Thurman looks as if she'd rather be stalking prey in Kill Bill.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 20, 2006
If anything, it's too airy and tends to be forgotten as soon as the lights go up. But it's certainly pleasant enough while it's on.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend lampoons conventional comic book movies and relationship films by nudging its needy title character into the Manhattan singles market. It's a silly premise, and it works beautifully.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2006
The two starring performances are spot on. Wilson gets the tone that screenwriter Don Payne so expertly evokes. Thurman is beautiful, fearless and perfectly believable as a superhero.
July 20, 2006
If you're going for plot, My Super Ex-Girlfriend will disappoint, but if you're going for a light look at aspects of the superhero experience that most 'serious' genre entries ignore, the film delivers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2006
My Super Ex-Girlfriend sets the cause of psychotic superheroines back about 30 years. The movie roils with more unexamined hostility towards women than a roomful of Taliban clerics.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 20, 2006
Everything about My Super Ex-Girlfriend feels clumsy and cut-rate.
Read More | Original Score: C
July 20, 2006
Mostly, MSEG is one of those movies that make you ask why: Why was it made? Why did Uma Thurman waste her time? And, most important, why is there 10 bucks missing from my pocket?
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 20, 2006
This comedy is so unfunny, it's like director Ivan Reitman and company had their senses of humor tranquilized from guzzling kryptonite lattes.
July 20, 2006
[Thurman] again proves herself an inspired goofball, switching personalities and wardrobes with the quick-change precision of Christopher Reeve in his prime.