My Week with Marilyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Week with Marilyn Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 18, 2017
The Marilyn Monroe story has been told to death and it is a tribute to the filmmakers that they have found a new and refreshing angle to present her irresponsible behavior fed by manic insecurities
September 8, 2017
[My Week with Marilyn] is a delightful and entertaining movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2017
When we are on the movie set or at press conferences, the film is delicious. And acidly funny.
July 18, 2017
This is a trifle of a film about a trifle of a film. But trifles can be appealing, especially English trifles, and this one is no exception.
October 5, 2016
This all sounds like the stuff of frothy period romance, but it comes off as dated, silly, and a little boring.
May 9, 2016
Enjoyable yet somewhat thin.
February 24, 2016
It would be easy to overpraise this very slight little picture. But its heart is in the right place. Marilyn was now and then, here and there, kind of fun to be with.
May 3, 2015
A great big slab of middlebrow fan-fiction.
June 30, 2013
Michelle Williams stuns in an Oscar-worthy performance in one of the year's best films.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0/5
June 20, 2013
I believe the heart of the film, and the cleverest stroke of all, is Eddie Redmayne as Colin Clark, someone few of us will have heard of.
March 4, 2013
A fun and tender tale of infatuation backed by two outstanding Oscar-nominated performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 28, 2012
When Michelle Williams is singing about starting a "Heat Wave" by "making my seat wave," friends you will believe it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 25, 2012
The film hinges on Williams' performance and not once do you question that she is Monroe. It's that "all-in" that makes the film work in such fantastic fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 13, 2012
Definitive performances keep the viewer interested in a less than compelling screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 27, 2012
My Week with Marilyn is a performance master class from Williams, Branagh, Dench, Ormond etc orbiting around the most boring protagonist that I've seen in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 12, 2012
A few good performances here and there do nothing to prevent this sappy, doe-eyed production from falling head-first into tedious territory.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 8, 2012
a charming look at a small sequence of Monroe's life and the subtle impact she had on those around her. A wonderful film that goes beyond the story you already know.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 8, 2012
Worth a watch just for Williams and the charming tale it tells.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 27, 2012
Michelle Williams is astonishingly good as Marilyn Monroe in My Week With Marilyn. It's a great shame the film itself can't equal the brilliance of Williams' performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 19, 2012
Williams captures the vulnerability, allure and transcendent appeal of Monroe perfectly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 9