My Wife Is an Actress - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Wife Is an Actress Reviews

Page 2 of 4
August 16, 2002
This French marriage comedy is a not-so -entertaining offering from real-life married couple actor-director Yvan Attal and actress Charlotte Gainsbourg, daughter of French crooner Serge Gainsbourg.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 16, 2002
My Wife Is an Actress works as well as it does because [the leads] are such a companionable couple.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 15, 2002
U.S. audiences may find [Attal and Gainsbourg's] unfamiliar personas give the film an intimate and quaint reality that is a little closer to human nature than what Hollywood typically concocts.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2002
Attal sets us up to expect some kind of inside look at the predicament posed by the title and premise of his movie. On that basis, My Wife Is an Actress, blandly pleasant as it is, is a bit of a cheat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 2, 2002
It's a breezy ride with pleasant little stops along the way.
August 2, 2002
If the movie were all comedy, it might work better. But it has an ambition to say something about its subjects, but not a willingness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 2, 2002
Nice balance between real emotions and cute movie moments with a hilarious love scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 1, 2002
Yvan may be a self-deprecating paranoiac in the Woody Allen tradition, but Mr. Attal's script does a fine job of making his character's concerns farcically real.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 1, 2002
A romantic comedy for anyone in love with the movies, and anyone, for that matter, who's in love.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 1, 2002
Everything that has to do with Yvan and Charlotte, and everything that has to do with Yvan's rambunctious, Jewish sister and her non-Jew husband, feels funny and true.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 1, 2002
My Wife offers the best and the worst of both Allen's ego-and- neuroses-based humor and Truffaut's romanticism about love and movies.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 31, 2002
My Wife is an Actress is obviously influenced by Woody Allen's movies about the film business -- and it has the raw energy that's been missing from some of Allen's later work.
July 27, 2002
Apparently writer-director Attal thought he need only cast himself and his movie-star wife sitting around in their drawers to justify a film.
July 26, 2002
Neither quite a comedy nor a romance, more of an impish divertissement of themes that interest Attal and Gainsbourg -- they live together -- the film has a lot of charm.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 26, 2002
Overall it's a promising debut, and a love letter to the droopily beautiful Gainsbourg.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 26, 2002
The film title My Wife Is an Actress should be extended to finish with . . . and I'm a Major Annoyance.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 26, 2002
Not so much farcical as sour.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 26, 2002
Any movie that sticks with you as long as this one did deserves a little extra credit
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 25, 2002
Just squeaks by as a contemporary romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 25, 2002
For the most part, My Wife Is an Actress is bright, pleasant and intelligent entertainment with no undue alarums or excursions.
Page 2 of 4