My Wife Is an Actress - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Wife Is an Actress Reviews

October 11, 2002
Attal pushes too hard to make this a comedy or serious drama. He seems to want both, but succeeds in making neither.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 11, 2002
I found it slow, predictable and not very amusing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 20, 2002
My Wife Is an Actress is an utterly charming French comedy that feels so American in sensibility and style it's virtually its own Hollywood remake.
Read More | Original Score: B+
August 22, 2002
The film's as witty as any subtitled movie has a right to be.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 16, 2002
It's Othello Lite -- minus that bit at the end about murder-suicide, but with every ounce of Shakespeare's insane emotion.
August 16, 2002
Little more than a frothy vanity project.
August 2, 2002
If the movie were all comedy, it might work better. But it has an ambition to say something about its subjects, but not a willingness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 1, 2002
Yvan may be a self-deprecating paranoiac in the Woody Allen tradition, but Mr. Attal's script does a fine job of making his character's concerns farcically real.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 1, 2002
A romantic comedy for anyone in love with the movies, and anyone, for that matter, who's in love.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 1, 2002
My Wife offers the best and the worst of both Allen's ego-and- neuroses-based humor and Truffaut's romanticism about love and movies.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 31, 2002
My Wife is an Actress is obviously influenced by Woody Allen's movies about the film business -- and it has the raw energy that's been missing from some of Allen's later work.
July 26, 2002
Overall it's a promising debut, and a love letter to the droopily beautiful Gainsbourg.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 26, 2002
The film title My Wife Is an Actress should be extended to finish with . . . and I'm a Major Annoyance.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 25, 2002
For the most part, My Wife Is an Actress is bright, pleasant and intelligent entertainment with no undue alarums or excursions.
July 19, 2002
Attal mixes comedy with a serious exploration of ego and jealousy within a seemingly serene marriage.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 19, 2002
[Yvan] mugs his way through any number of low-comic situations ... leaving Charlotte -- and this critic -- ever more exasperated and unsure about whether it's going to be worth hanging in for the long haul.
July 19, 2002
The film exudes the urbane sweetness that Woody Allen seems to have bitterly forsaken.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 18, 2002
Just keeping it all straight -- real-life filmmaker directing real-life wife in make-believe nude scene about same-named make-believe character's insecurities about same-named wife's make-believe nude scenes -- can leave you a little breathless.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 12, 2002
Though it's not much more substantial than Woody Allen's similar Hollywood Ending, Attal's briskly paced film has a lot more energy.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 11, 2002
Despite the wobbly tone, and the ambiguity that hangs over the last section of the movie, My Wife Is an Actress is a light, enjoyable night out.
July 11, 2002
With every detail in this clever peekaboo, the sly filmmaker dangles the possibility that fiction is fact and that Yvan and Charlotte are real -- or at least as real as the movies.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 10, 2002
Gainsbourg is virtually incidental to her mate's screeching navel-serenade, which maintains a stranglehold on the declarative first-person mode of its title.
March 29, 2002
A terrifically deft picture about the thick line that separates movie glamour from the real world, and the thin line between common sense and paranoia.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 14, 2002
Attal has directed that rare thing -- a French movie that deals with romance without the rhetoric.