My Year Without Sex - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Year Without Sex Reviews

Page 1 of 1
March 16, 2011
...a well-meaning yet consistently underwhelming domestic drama that rarely packs the emotional punch that Watt has obviously intended.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2010
Testing a family for breaking points within a comic framework is not exactly new territory, but Watt's scripting is sharp and she plays fast and loose with audience expectation in the cliche department.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 5, 2009
We get to care for the characters, but would like to have understood them better.
August 5, 2009
A gem of a film: a wonderfully observed snapshot that canvasses the emotional pulse of a family in the suburbs. It's the slant with which Watt affectionately embraces her characters that make it so engaging.
August 1, 2009
A delightfully modest film that overcomes its narrative lulls with authentically crafted characters and astute observations of everyday life.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 29, 2009
[Watt] is a a filmmaker to treasure.
May 29, 2009
A year without sex is actually one of the lesser challenges that Watt tackles, with stout heart and a rich instinct for human comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 29, 2009
Watt strives to cram a great deal into a small space, but her special triumph is that the strain never shows. My Year Without Sex stands as the most accomplished Australian film so far this year.
May 27, 2009
While there are occasions where the film appears to be going nowhere in particular, the undeniable believability of the characters makes the wait for a return to relevance simply whiz by.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 26, 2009
While My Year Without Sex tackles life and potential death issues head on, it is, put simply, bloody funny.
May 26, 2009
There's a lovely assurance to Sarah Watt's screenplay and direction, she knows her characters well and her affection shows.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 26, 2009
Funny, moving, tense and entertaining, it's a strong follow-up to the sublime Look Both Ways.
| Original Score: 4/5
May 26, 2009
It's [the] honest, natural performances and the way most average Aussies will relate to their sorry situation that makes My Year Without Sex all worth it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 1