Mysterious Mr. Wong - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mysterious Mr. Wong Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ May 26, 2015
These Chinese work fast.

Jason Barton is a reporter that is a bit down on his luck at work and in the bedroom. He is hot after a local operator and the two of them go into Chinatown to investigate a series of serial killings. They are informed of a man that may be able to help them on their investigation resides in Chinatown and goes by the name Wong. They find Wong and discover he is a very eccentric man.

"When I say steak and mushrooms I mean steak and mushrooms."

William Nigh, director of Mr. Wong, Detective; Black Dragons; The Ape; Desert Nights; Mr. Wise Guys; City of Silent Men; and Escape from Hong Kong, delivers The Mysterious Mr. Wong. The storyline for this picture is just okay but the characters and script are well written. The cast delivers solid performances and includes Bela Lugosi, Lotus Long, and Wallace Ford.

"You will shortly experience a great danger."

I came across this on Netflix and thought it would be a fun classic horror film. It was fairly fun if you enjoy the classic horror films. There are a lot of cliché Asian references but some fun sequences. Overall, this is fairly average and worth an evening viewing.

"We're in the house of Wong."

Grade: C
September 6, 2014
Lugosi looks very foolish in Chinese drag, and to hear him speak of "the house of Wong" in the same Hungarian dialect as his Dracula was not intended to be funny. Mr Wong has a "secret identity" as Ly See, an herbal peddler, & fun though it can be for any Lugosi fan to see him create a double-character, it's awfully hard to overlook what horrid caricatures he has concocted.
September 29, 2013
A newspaperman investigates the series of murders in Chinatown. His diligence leads him to a seemingly unremarkable old merchant of herbs played by Bela Lugosi. Further digging shows that the shopkeeper is hunting for the 12th and final coin of Confucius in order to control China. Funny they couldnt locate a single Chinaman to play any of the lead Oriental characters, only a few Mongoloids in the background or minor speaking roles. Dialog such as "This White Devil cannot be dealt with as one of our own race" implies the real danger of the Yellow Peril. Some the Irish stereotypes were funny also.
May 30, 2013
The Mysterious Mr. Wong (William Nigh, 1934)

I know that when reviewing a film from the so-called good old days, a reviewer is supposed to look at the moral structure of the film from a contemporary standpoint and rationalize that, say, a movie's casual racism is just a product of its time. And mostly, I try to do that. But every once in a while I run across a movie that's so ridiculously "politically incorrect" that I can't imagine that even when it was released there weren't people who were left gaping at how incredibly racist the movie they just saw was. The Mysterious Mr. Wong, a dumb, no-budget Bela Lugosi vehicle, is about as close to a perfect definition of that sentiment as one would ever fear to come across. Do yourself a favor and avoid this if you have a racially sensitive bone in your body; it goes out of its way to offend, well, pretty much everyone. On the other hand, it does have that bloody-car-accident draw to it, where one can't believe that anyone involved in the making of this didn't go home and shower with steel wool every night to get the stink off. *
Super Reviewer
September 12, 2010
The story sounds exciting, but the film is not. It's really predictable. Lugosi is in the movie, but other than that it's not worth watching.
July 10, 2010
Although short, simple, and predictable with Chinese stereotypes from the 30s, this movie is entertaining. Lugosi is brilliant as always playing the villain, Mr. Wong. I found this in a DVD box of mystery movies, but there isn't much mystery in this film since you know that Lugosi's character is trying to steal all the Confucius coins to get whatever power they hold. It's more of a thriller, with some exciting scenes. If you're a fan of Lugosi, you have to check out this movie.
½ October 8, 2006
5.5/10. Wallace Ford is good, Bela Lugosi is a bit much though at times. It's not one of the entries in the Mr. Wong series but I was still entertained by it.
Page 1 of 1