Nabbeun namja (Bad Guy) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nabbeun namja (Bad Guy) Reviews

Page 1 of 11
August 10, 2014
My favorite Kim ki Duk film.
½ March 26, 2014
The movie takes you through various journeys of love,seperation,torture,revenge,avenge.Although i myself might not vouch for this movie as Ki-Duk's best but still it creates that impression in viewer's mind that lasts long .
November 20, 2013
park benches may never quite seem the same again
October 14, 2013
the story's kinda ludicrous, no? who is that gullible??
this one makes your brain go into overdrive by slyly blurring the line between what is "right" and "wrong" and bringing you on a roller coaster ride of emotions.
without giving it away, i preferred the unbelievable and twisted love ending to the alternative; even perversity loves in its own sweet way.

personally don't like it as much as the other KKDs.
September 17, 2013
A strange film of a thug's attraction to a woman who's clearly out of his league, which spurs him to contrive a scenario in which she is at his mercy and in great debt. Forced into prostitution, he is her pimp, and he watches her intimate encounters through a one-way mirror with a weird mixture of satisfaction and growing attachment.

Soon he realizes that he loves her?

A great looking film, but somewhat puzzling if considered in the rational world we live in, but this film follows its own logic entirely and makes it work.

Well worth a look.
April 10, 2013
A disturbing and complex look at class warfare and changing morals. A thuggish pimp enforcer entraps a college girl into prostitution after a scuffle, in order to lower her to his level. Even though she figures out he is the source of her imprisonment, she discovers she may love this man.

Not everything is as it seems when it comes to a Kim Ki-duk film. People have two theories on the ending: Either she is a massive victim of Stockholm Syndrome, or both of them died and are together in spirit.

Either way, its a very interesting look at the underbelly of the red light district, filled with all kinds of heinous acts and scumbags. This film is not for the average viewer, only people who are familiar with Kim Ki-Duk's work should view this.
March 25, 2013
Difficult to watch at points but if you can get past the sadistic aspects there is a lot of gems as well, especially the cold calculated silence of the the "The Bad Guy".
January 7, 2013
What the heck was that? Awful. There are no dialogues, the plot was ridiculous and almost all the scenes the girl just slapped the guy's face while he tried to be affectionate to her in a wild way.
½ December 5, 2012
Not just a sick movie, Imo it manages to make a few fair points, Thoought provoking with some impressive moments
½ September 16, 2012
I might have chosen a slightly different approach to get the girl I like, just saying.
September 10, 2012
Vicious and disturbing with a twisted tenderness. I just love Korean cinema.
June 21, 2012
capolavoro inaudito.
½ June 6, 2012
C'est tout de même dommage.

Parce que la première heure était perverse à souhait, qu'elle était lourde de sous-entendus intelligents et d'ambiguïtés jouissives. Les deux acteurs principaux savaient donner vie à l'oeuvre et Bad Guy se positionnait déjà comme l'un des grands scénarios écrits par Ki-Duk Kim, quand bien même il s'agissait peut-être là d'une de ses réalisations les moins travaillées en matière d'esthétisme, malgré quelques plans de caméra qui en valaient tout de même la peine.

Ce qui est dommage, c'est que toute cette abomination du scénario coulait si bien, tout le développement en était si fluide, que la dernière demie-heure a corsée les choses par un amalgame de péripéties étranges et plus ou moins compréhensibles qui, somme toute, auront fini par me perdre. Des personnages louches font irruption et font dévier bizarrement le scénario vers une finale inattendue qui ne rend pas du tout honneur au reste du film.

Tout de même un bon film de Ki-Duk Kim, bien que la fin aurait pu être travaillée d'une différente manière.

C'est tout de même dommage. Non?
June 23, 2011
Beautifully shot and oftentimes disturbing, yet remarkably stagnant. What starts off as a gripping tale of one girl forced into prostitution gradually becomes a tiring mess, with increasingly limited inclusion of its main character and plot. Visually, 'Bad Guy' is magnificent and its soundtrack is spot-on, however, the haphazard narrative renders the movie both frustrating and tiring to endure. This psycho-thriller has the potential to be a poignant character study, yet loses its effect through focusing too much on sub-plots and secondary characters. Even fans of Kim Ki-Duk's visionary direction are likely to end up disappointed with this one.
Super Reviewer
½ June 8, 2011
despite how engaging it can be at times due to its austere plot it's also a real stomach churner, at times making you feel sick a little due to its harshness...
May 22, 2011
I think,He(Han- gi ) was trying to get Sun Wah in place of her old girl. He too was probably enjoying being a prostitute or probably being the kind of girl He wanted.
March 29, 2011
I couldn't decide whether to give this one star or five stars. A strange love story.
March 20, 2011
4/10: A movie that is much more complicated than first look. To fully enjoy the movie, you are require decipher the hidden meanings and metaphors.
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
½ February 1, 2011
Probably one of the most twisted love stories ever made into a film. It's set in South Korea and is about a gangster who finds instant attraction towards a young college student and becomes so infactuated he conjures a plan that has her forced into prostitution under his watchful eye in order to pay off her loan. It's an interesting film for sure but it's quite disturbing and unpleasant as the poor female victim struggles with her desperate situation who grows to both loathe and love the man responsible for her predicament. The 'Bad Guy' also struggles with his love and guilt towards the woman whilst trying to maintain order in and around the brothel he monitors leading to some violent confrontations with clients and other gangsters. Very well acted by all. It did have some slow moments though. It won't be for everyone - especially feminists - but it's worth one viewing for those not easily offended.
January 27, 2011
One of the better South-Korean movies I've watched so far!
The story is quite extraordinary and bloody as well. The story tells the evolution of a young woman's life in prostitution and tries to explain some kind of love between herself and her pimp / lover / saviour. I thought it was directed very well.
And I was in for a surprise at the very end when I heard the Swedish Eurovision Song Contest winner Carola sing her well known song Blott en Dag. That's very strange since the entire movie was in the native South Korean language and had nothing whatsoever to do with Sweden.
Page 1 of 11