Naked Ambition: An R Rated Look at an X Rated Industry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Naked Ambition: An R Rated Look at an X Rated Industry Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 20, 2016
I found Naked Ambition to be an interesting insight into X-rated Entertainment. I felt like the documentary did a good job at humanizing a demographic of society, that is often over-looked as being obscure, and taboo. It was interesting to see how closely the professional goals of people in Adult entertainment industry mirrored the professional goals found in any other industry.
October 10, 2015
Naive or just blatantly stupid? Misguided might be a better description. Anyone who's interested in this should first read read David Foster Wallaces's survey called The Big Red Sun or alternatively Neither Adult Nor Entertainment. This movie is such a superficial glorification. At no point does he mention the fallout of the porn business; the higher suicide rate among starlets, the organizations set up to try an help them. It's all in good fun from this doc. Lazy at best, destructive at worst.
November 23, 2014
I've always been fascinated by this industry. Especially living in LA. I've met and known a number of women who are very comfortable living this lifestyle and doing it quite successfully, though I'm not sure that's the norm. I found the film very interesting and it certainly gave me more insight into a subject that many aren't willing to admit that they are interested in.
November 16, 2014
Great film. Funny about the porn industry
½ March 31, 2014
The title and plot summary may give the audience an idea that this is a full on film that goes in depth of the entire porn industry, but that is misleading. Instead it succeeds at showing a photo shoot for a coffee table book on porn and the background to the models who are shot for it.
½ February 3, 2014
At first this documentary may seem sleazy or over the top, but I was pleasantly surprised to find this compassionate look at the subculture of the American porn industry. The story follows Michael Grecco photo journalist and artist's passionate journey of photography the AVN awards (the Oscar's of the porn industry) and his discovery of the people behind the porn and documenting them in interesting and artistic way. Overall this film is really fascinating and full of colourful and exuberant characters.
October 12, 2013
kinda interesting, very self serving.
September 28, 2013
I got caught in this weird netflix loop that led me to this "I'm a serious photographer, and I'm going to expose the normalcy of porn" pretentious piece of subversive art bullshit
½ May 24, 2013
This movie is fantastically important to the first world in regards to accepting our biological desires and ambitions and regarding it as a serious profession. This industry exists whether or not we find it acceptable, and treating these performers with the same respect as any other profession is key. All these people are beautiful human beings and have the right to be proud of themselves as much as the next person.
½ February 9, 2013
Having worked as a photographer, I respect Grecco's ability to take excellent pictures with such depth and quality, however, I think as a documentary there is so much else the viewer needs to see!
January 21, 2013
Until this morning I had no idea who Michael Grecco. Now I now I've seen his work before but I didn't know anything about him.

I was recently in a terrible snowmobiling accident and have been pretty debilitated for the last 3 to 4 weeks. What that translated to was me sitting in my theater recliner watching copious amounts of Netflix documentaries.

I came across Naked Ambition this morning and figured what the hell, I'll give it a shot.

What an impressive film. I've literally watched hundreds in the last few weeks and this one is by far my absolute favorite. The documentary was so well done and he really showed a different side of that industry.

Michael really knows how to capture the essence of his subjects. What makes them tick. This film gave me a great education about the AVN show and the adult industry in general. Very fascinating. And while you watch you also get to see Michael's incredible photography in vivid HD.

Bottom line, it was an enjoyable and inspiring hour and a half. Watch it. It's fantastic. I'm now a huge Michael Grecco fan. I truly hope he produces more just like this on some of his future shoots.
January 21, 2013
Until this morning I had no idea who Michael Grecco was. Now I know I've seen his work before but I didn't know anything about him.

I was recently in a terrible snowmobiling accident and have been pretty debilitated for the last 3 to 4 weeks. What that translated to was me sitting in my theater recliner watching copious amounts of Netflix documentaries.

I came across Naked Ambition this morning and figured what the hell I'll give it a shot.

What an impressive film. I've literally watched hundreds in the last few weeks and this one is my absolute favorite. The documentary was so well done and he really showed a different side of that industry.

Michael really knows how to capture the essence of his subjects. What makes them tick. This film gave me a great education about the AVN show and the adult industry in general. Very fascinating. And while you watch you also get to see Michael's incredible photography in vivid HD.

Bottom line it was an enjoyable and inspiring hour and a half. Watch it. It's fantastic. I'm now a huge Michael Grecco fan. I truly hope he produces more just like this on some of his future shoots.
½ December 2, 2012
Un extenso publirreportaje colmado hasta la náusea de estereotipos, que cuenta la historia de un fotógrafo que intentó ver el lado amable de la industria pornográfica en Estados Unidos, infortunadamente se sumergió tanto en la sordidez que perdió la distancia crítica.
March 29, 2012
I am going to skip this one.
January 26, 2012
If someone other than Michael Grecco directed this movie, and it was about his unbridled egotism, it could be an amazing documentary...
½ January 24, 2012
Was supposed to be a behind the scenes documentary at the adult film industry convention. I'm not sure it ever gets there. He talks in depth with about three people. Mostly, as some reviewers point out, the movie is a long commercial for the book of the same project. Not to say there were not some interesting photos. Certainly you've got some nudity, some interesting poses, some interesting items, and a professional photographer. But it's not something I'd buy, and not something that was overly enjoyable to watch. Over half the people in the industry are not even attractive. Sometimes a good photograph can bring something out of them. I'm not sure that was the intention with this project, and even if it were, it probably didn't accomplish that. And I have no real interest in looking at things that are not appealing.
November 20, 2011
While missing a sense of depth that I would have enjoyed, it does seek to display his experiences of these stars and the world he finds himself surrounded by. And this is done in a tasteful and thought provoking manner that I found refreshing.
October 17, 2011
Captivating and creative! I was first a fan of the book, the story and the photography; the documentary itself put it all in perspective and also gave an interesting look into the mind of Michael Grecco as he walked the path needed to get access and the trust of the people and still maintain the creativity of the photographer. Very worthwhile for anyone with an interest in the documenting of the edgier parts of our world as well as for the novice or professional photographer or film maker. Good stuff!
½ October 10, 2011
Michael Grecco is a filmmaker in denial, constantly reminding us in our narration that he's 'not making porn,' trying to not seem interested in porn. Perhaps there's an arc, but it's no longer interesting to fulfill itself already knowing up front how forceful Grecco is trying to be. I'd rather he be a director who wasn't doing a director's commentary. Grecco clearly made this film so he could fuck some porn stars; I hope he succeeded for his sake, many of us regulars though still feel at a distance. I'm also particularly bothered by the fact that porn is a failure's medium, constantly glorified by popular and independent media as a free expression of sexuality... after all else fails!
October 4, 2011
there's a couple bad bitches in the spot tonight
Page 1 of 3